We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Burghotel and would highly recommend it to others. Everything about this hotel is first class. The staff are friendly and helpful, location is perfect - located in the end of the town in medieval wall but close enough to walk to everything. The rooms are very quiet and well decorated. We had a choice f 4 rooms on arrival and found it hard to choose which one. We opted for Room 1 on the Ground Floor. It was newly renovated with a large poster bed, sitting area and modern ensuite. We had our own access to the garden and perfect view of the gardens through every window. The breakfast was perfect and you could not ask for a better view to start the day. We also used the sauna area downstairs and would recommend others utilise this. We will be encouraging other friends to stay here and we will be back again. Fran - Australia

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent if you don't want to carry bags upstairs of if you want private access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    94
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
170
308
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We found the Burg Hotel through a guidebook, and it didn't let us down. Room #24 was newly renovated and had a fantastic bathroom with double sinks and a great tub. The hotel is centrally-located inside of the city walls and walkable to most anything you'd want to see. Great breakfast in the morning as well and staff was very agreeable. We even got to take advantage of the last two days of a special rate which made it an even better value, so definitely ask about any specials going on if you decide to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagnerlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Yes, we offer a few rooms for the Wintersleep Special Rate of Euro 97,50 per night incl. breakfast next year again in January and February, but only for direct booking by e-mail or call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Amazing breakfast. Of all the European traveling that I have done the breakfast that this hotel and their wonderful friendly staff serve is just perfect. The breakfast room has stunning views and a great selection of warm and cold items. The bedrooms are spacious and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K. and USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A perfect setting in a perfect medieval town.
The hotel is built right into the old town wall ! We had a beautiful room
complete with a poster bed. The room was on the 2nd floor on a corner over looking the
garden in one direction, and over the city wall in the other direction. Perfect ! The room was very generous in size. In addition there was a small sitting room and a well appointed bathroom that was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast room is also on the 2nd floor and over looks the wall and the valley below. Great views, as well as lovely fresh flowers on each table. There is a buffet and we were asked if they could cook hot eggs or waffles for us. I opted for the waffles and they were delicious. It is in a quiet location, but still only 1 block from a lovely church, 1 block to the museum and 2 blocks from the center of the town. So, a perfect location. I will look to book this hotel again if I am in the area. Enjoy !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolatetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed only two nights in Burghotel, but I really have a great impression of it. The hotel is built into the town walls and overlooks the Tauber River valley. The room (spacious ...) we stayed has its own sitting area and a wonderful view. Simply lovely. The staff is really fantastic and very, very friendly. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms have beatiful views. But for the best views, ask for n. 2 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and two children (11 and 7) for a few nights in August, 2011. There is nothing really to fault: from the ease of booking, to the fact that we got free parking in front of the hotel, to the spotlessly clean room, to the professional , personal, proactive and friendly service, to the hearty, fresh and cooked-to-order breakfast, to the convenience and beauty and peacefulness of the hotel's location, and the reasonableness of its prices! We couldn't have designed a place more specifically tailored to our requirements, and, in particular, we loved the fact that our room was a suitably-sized, well-priced, family room, with a four-poster bed for us and a double pull-out sofa bed for the kids.

The woman who cooked our breakfast every morning would stop at nothing to ensure we had what we wanted, the way we wanted it - and she wasn't shy in making suggestions. The view from the breakfast room down into the valley and up into the mountain beyond is sweeping and picturesque. You can also eat outdoors on the terrace, but there were too many wasps when we were there, so we stayed inside. Unlike other hotels, they did our laundry for us at a very reasonable charge. The bathroom was so clean that I stared at and inspected it for a long time to see if I could find any evidence that anyone else had ever used it (I couldn't)! The ONLY thing I didn't like was my mattress, which, for me, was too soft. However, that, of course, is a matter of indivdual preference. The slightly-too-soft mattress is responsible for my not giving this hotel a five-star review.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

a truly elegant property in the heart of rothenburg, lovely rooms, very well done breakfast, elegant "wellness center" (although must be reserved in advance at a cost per person !). that said, room prices are quite reasonable for the level of amenities and overall quality.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely, and if not fully booked, staffers offer options upon arrival and check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Property: Burghotel
Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing