We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is outside the city walls, is easy to find, parking is included and wifi is available. The room is clean and tidy. Overall a very enjoyable experience. The breakfast I pretty good, with som nice choices. I would probably stay closer or inside the city walls but this wasn't bad.

Room Tip: No fitness center, no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here overnight 8-3-12 on a trip down to the Alps on the Romantic Road. The hotel is very charming and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had the best breakfast of our trip here.
We were driving and picked the hotel beacuse others reported that the parking situation was good and it was. I totally agree that driving inside the town walls must be very difficult. The hotel is exactly 7 minutes walking (for us with pushing a 3 year old in a stroller) to the town wall. The walk is easy, flat, safe and pleasant.
The hotel is on a busy street, but we didn't have any noise problems. It seemed to us that the area gets very quiet at night. We missed dinner at the hotel restaurant but the menu looked great and they have a nice garden for eating/drinking (or running around if you are 3).
The hotel is not super luxurious, but we didn't excect that- just a warning for others. It is comfy, clean and accomodating.(and totally charming)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dixiebelle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Pros:
- Great location just outside the city walls - easy to drive to, big carpark and still a very short walk to find yourself in the heart of Rothenburg.
- Friendly welcoming staff.
- Good breakfast - standard robust German fare.
- Good value for money.

Cons (not really cons, just opportunities for improvement):
- Rooms were pleasant and clean but a bit basic and starting to look a bit dated.
- Towels in the bathroom were thin and a bit threadbare.
- Lighting in the room was one big flourescent bright light. A couple of lamps would make the room feel much nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were actually disapointed because we could not reserve a hotel in the town itself but it turned out to be most convenient. The twin room that we had was large, clean and absolutely German-perfect. There is a large parking space right behind the hotel, in front of the back-entrance. It takes only ten minutes to comfortably reach the town-centre, that we do not have to worry about parking space for ages. The hotel price is reasonable, including excellent breakfast.
The people at the hotel were very friendly and they all seemed to be well informed about most of the events in Rothenburg and could give us good information.
There is a romatic evening guided tour of old town carried out by theatre actors (German at 21:30 and English at 20:00), which is highly recommendable. It starts from the market place, where you meet him / her just before the beginning of the tour.

Room Tip: On the top floor the rooms seem to be new and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Very nice hotel. Short walk to wall in rothenburg . Fantastic breakfast and clean rooms!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeycutt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Although I've been to Germany many times before, this is the first time I actually rented a car, and I picked this hotel because of its convenience to the driver. Indeed, it's easy to drive into, and there's plenty of free parking. Although only 250 m from the train station, it's in the opposite direction from the old town, so I wouldn't pick it if I came in by train. The service was friendly, although we reserved a room with 2 beds and received a room with one large bed. Our room had lots of street noise, but no noise from hotel guests. Lots of truck traffic all night long for some reason, but I slept fine with earplugs. The breakfast was surprisingly hearty and well-replenished. The room even had a flat-screened TV, with news in English. Room size was generous. It certainly wasn't the nicest hotel on our trip, but it met my expectations and was a reasonable value for this city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Some reviews say noisy hotel, small bathrooms etc. It is in a tourist hotspot, what do you expect? As for the room? Pay for a better one, we did and the decoration was recent, the room at the quiet back of the hotel, and the bathroom more than adequate. The hotel is outside the old city walls, and as a UK driver I wouldn’t want to find a hotel inside the city walls! Excellent service and the restaurant was OK, it saved going back into the old town after a day walking around it. The position of the hotel is only a couple of Km from the motorway, just around the corner from the station and ideal for touring. Incidentaly our sat nav got us right to the spot. A special mention for Natasha!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philblambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass

Address: Ansbacher Str. 39, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $91 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing