We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gastehaus Familie Gerlinger
Nearby Hotels
$321
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Klosterstueble(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
29
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkparking areainside the city wallsold towndoorwaybedroomluggage
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 39 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at Pension Gerlinger...it was delightful! Easy to get to, easy parking nearby, good location within Rothenburg for seeing the sights/shopping.
We had a little trouble when we first arrived, as they were locked up and had some phone numbers to call if we needed to check in We did not have an international phone to do that. But we waited only about 15 minutes, and a young man (Jürgen's son I think) came and checked us in.
The rooms were spacious, warm, plenty of hot water for showers. We slept well! Breakfast was so good -- a typical European breakfast, with meat and cheese trays, plenty of Brötchen, pots of coffee. There were also beautiful colored hard boiled eggs available. We were served by Susan, Jürgen and Hermann at different meals.
Even though this was in Rick Steves book, we were VERY pleased to find that we were the only Americans staying there. Hermann helped us out with our luggage, "because you spoke German to me!" he teased.
We can't say enough good about Pension Gerlinger and the Gerlinger family. We highly recommend their Gästehaus!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A short few blocks from the center, beside the wall and you can park! We took the upstairs apartment, 2 bedrooms, full kitchen. It was wonderful, quiet at night, plenty of space for 4 of us. Owner and his son were very nice and accommodating. Plenty of good breakfast foods. Really enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Spacious family apartment
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rothenburg is such a wonder town to visit and this B&B is a real find. It is within the city walls but far enough away from the noise of the main square. The building is half-timbered and the inside is renovated as it would have been built. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The breakfast room is quite cozy and nice food. The owner is very helpful and accommodating. Parking anywhere withing the B&B area. Very important in a city this size! A nice balcony overlooking the fortified city wall is available to enjoy an afternoon beer or glass of wine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was looking for family accomodations in Rothenburg (4 people), and my first choice (and my second) were sold out. Somebody recommended this guesthouse and, seeing the good reviews on tripadvisor, I booked. The cost was about 100 Euros/night, including the good breakfast (not buffet, but a reasonably-sized meat/cheese plate was served).

Our two-room plus kitchen (you aren't supposed to use the kitchen unless you stay multiple nights) was comfortably furnished. Not fancy, but the rooms did have some "Rothenburg character." The location inside the walls on the northeast side was convenient for driving, and I found free parking right outside the guesthouse.

I have stayed in other Rothenburg guesthouses and all of them have been fairly similar -- and satisfactory. I didn't find the Gerlinger to be exceptional but it was a more than decent place to stay and I would have no qualms recommending it.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Had a very nice stay at this Gastehaus in Sept 2011 for 3 nights. It is located very close to one side of the wall, quiet location but yet close enough to Marktplatz. We walked from the train station. It was very easy to find and it took us maybe about 20 mins to get there (we stopped a few times during the way to take pictures).

The modern staircase in the house adds unique character to its mature but very well-maintained existence. Our room was on the 2nd floor, and has a very Bavarian style. There is no single straight board in the room. The wooden floor planks were beautiful with a little bit gap in-between them. The fact that we had to plan our steps carefully so our feet did not get caught in the gap just add to the overall truly unique experience! They used a sewing machine as a TV stand. Nice wooden desk and closet in the room; you can see they are of a very good quality.

We paid 159 euros for the two of us, including breakfast. Love the breakfast area. The lights on the wall in the breakfast room gave a very nice artistic touch to its loveliness. Breakfast was good. Everyday they served a basket full of different kinds of bread. A plate of different kinds of cheese and cold cuts. They also had a few different varieties of fruit jams, and of course Nutella.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcopoloRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews