We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Shop”

Kathe Wohlfahrt's Christmas Shop
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.28*
and up
Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous shop brings all the glitz and glamour of the Christmas holidays year round.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Shop”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is a beautiful store with many beautiful items to admire and purchase. The quality, quantity and service is excellent.

My only issue is when shipping items to Canada from Germany it is very costly. There is a store in the United States but it does not ship to Canada and I am wondering why not. This would be so much more reasonable and one would be more tempted to continue purchasing these wonderful items without worrying about expensive shipping charges or carting the figures on their tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    165
    46
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Mainly (expensive) Kitsch”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

You are a devoted fan of X-mas? Then this is your shop. There are accessoires you had never imagined possible in its variations and so many decorations you would need several X-mas trees for.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ditto every fabulous review!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Every review here is positive and for good reason. The shop(s) are incredible. Whether you are a Christmas guru or a grinch, you'll be enamored by the magic of Christmas here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATexasTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas all year”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a draw in it's own right. Ok. It's a little touristy, but as the oldest completely walled city in Europe, it's more than worth a visit. If you're into Christmas, especially Northern European style, there is nowhere, in my opinion, like the Wohlfahrt shops there. On walking into the first shop, I was transported back in time to little kid memories of Christmas where the lights were brighter, the colors more vivid, and the feelings just enveloped you. Want to remember? Go to Rothenburg.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
618 reviews
354 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Christmas Overload”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I'm a real Christmas tragic and found this shop quite amazing - a wonderful way to spend an hour or so. I kept getting lost in the shop, seems to wind around all over the place. I did like their colour themed sections, would be very helpful for those people who like their tree very coordinated. I wasn't really impressed with the woman at the checkout counter. When I enquired about the tax discount for non EU purchasers, she barked at me "you have to fill out a form". It was only overhearing another person ask the same question and it was explained to her that you have to claim at the airport when leaving. Interesting - we have been traveling through Europe now for nearly 5 weeks and in every other purchase, where the tax has been applicable, the discount has been taken off the purchase price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathe Wohlfahrt's Christmas Shop also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Kathe Wohlfahrt's Christmas Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing