We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Begging for a tip!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Ranked #12 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: German, European, Gastropub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant specializes in Franconian fare with tasty dishes like marinated beef, and moist roast pork soaked in an unforgettable gravy, and a side of red kraut and potato dumplings. Try it with a glas of Franconian wine. Meet the locals in our restaurant, enjoy your beer in our beer garden - or just have a little break with soups, salads or sausages...
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Begging for a tip!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Slow service, seated us at a dirty table, never brought napkins. We had to beg for the bill and then he begged for a tip. No, I would not recommend ever. Rude and slow. I tip for service that is prompt and respectful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wcalasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    104
    32
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a delicious meal with our family at this restaurant. There were children's books readily available upon entry. On the outside patio there were several rideable children's toys. The food & service were wonderful & attitude delightful. Their potato dumplings are to die for. They even had child size cutlery. Everything about our lunch was delightful. Look forward to coming back again & staying the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok food, good beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food was what you would expect. The service was friendly & efficient. This is a nice stop before taking the Night Watchman's Tour, which meets outside in the main plaza. Do not miss the night tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tedandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal off Marketplatz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Here's the 1,2,3s...

1. So close to main square you would think it would be very touristy. Well, maybe it is, but there's a reason it's a full restaurant...the food is Good!

2. Traditional, cold-weather warming, German comfort food like roast pork and potato dumplings.

3. Super attentive older ladies that speak English.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack-Less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We decided to dine here after I saw cod on the menu outside. We were not disappointed. The cod was delicious and appreciated after so much red meat and chicken. We had a nice waitress. We had to sit outside and it was a bit chilly, but it was a Sat eve and the inside was full or reserved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmull50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Goldener Greifen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing