We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bland food”

Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Diner, German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our restaurant specializes in Franconian fare with tasty dishes like marinated beef, and moist roast pork soaked in an unforgettable gravy, and a side of red kraut and potato dumplings. Try it with a glas of Franconian wine. Meet the locals in our restaurant, enjoy your beer in our beer garden - or just have a little break with soups, salads or sausages...
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“bland food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The wrong food brought to our table - waitress annoyed that she had to correct it. Bland coalfish and schnitzel. Stick with beer here - nothing else was good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    116
    33
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Traditional Bavarian fare in Rothenburg OBT”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had lunch at the Goldener Greifen after finding out some of my other choices closed for lunch at 1:30. They had a beer garden so we sat outside. Received prompt service and had an english menu. Had the wiener schnitzel. Huge portion, could have easily split it for lunch. Good beer selection and friendly service. Prices were a little on the high side for a traditional german restaurant but ok considering it's in Rothenburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redtraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good at best”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Service was excellent, Menu was very nice, Price was a little high, Food was average at best,
Find another restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outside Biergarten Perfect”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were looking for a place that would accommodate 6 adults and 4 small children. We were lead to the rear outside biergarten which allowed the children to not be constantly seated. Imagine our surprise when performers for a show in the square came in and sat down for a bite. We knew we choose wisely. We had a great meal which can be a chore with small children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Wonderful Meal All Round”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a hotel and restaurant

I stayed in the hotel last week. Service was immaculate.

Had lunch with my friends here too. The waitress was very friendly and warm. Huge plus that all the wait staff spoke English. Despite the restaurant being busy, they still found time to check in once in a while to see if we were alright. Food was great too, especially this roasted pork dish.

When I was checking out in the morning, the waitress heard I was rushing for a flight and hurriedly whipped up a delicious breakfast spread for me in 2 minutes

Great place to stay and dine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Goldener Greifen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing