We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for stay in Rothenburg!”
Review of Guesthouse Edith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Edith
Ranked #28 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in early December with our two young girls. We chose the third floor room so we would have extra space for the kids. While it was a long haul up to the third floor it was worth it to us to have the extra space. The rooms were clean and and my daughter loved the giant stuffed bear in the bedroom. The hostess provided a baby crib for us too. The bathroom was also spacious and had plenty of hot water. We found the mattress in the front bedroom to be pretty uncomfortable but we are picky about mattresses. Our room was also equipped with a mini fridge and tv. Very central location on a side street off the main square and could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Only downside is parking can be tricky but we were able to get a space on the street the second day. The breakfast was delicious, a variety of meats and breads, cereal, fruit, tea or coffee, and the hostess offered fresh hard boiled eggs too. We would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonCatbackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Edith
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Been there for 3 nights
Rooms are very simple, but clean. No elevator. We stayed on 3 floor and forced to move our bags up the stairs.
Internet worked well and it was free
Location: main reason. Very central, but not on the crowded street.
Breakfast is limited and every day the same.
Owner was very kind.
Nice place in a lovely town

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a decent stay in Rothenburg. The location is very central and only two short blocks from the main square. Our hostess was very nice and she also seems to run the connecting restaurant. The stay offered a nice continental breakfast which included fresh breads, sliced meats, yogurt and cereals.

The room was comfortable and clean. We could unfortunately hear one of our neighbors yelling through the wall, but luckily this did not last long.

The parking situation is a bit hit or miss. There are several streets you can't drive on because they are for foot traffic. Our navi couldn't get us to the correct street because some streets were closed for construction. We easily parked along the castle walls without any problem or charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisemeister79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our group of 5 arrived via rental car to Rothenburg on a very hot August 1, 2013. After arriving at this hotel, Edith met us and had her husband's car moved so that we could park directly in front of the hotel. This was a very clean place that is a block away from the town square. As we explored we could come back here to rest and refresh.......the breakfast was very good and plentiful. Edith really enjoys her guests and wants them to be comfortable. The only downside was not due to anything at this hotel. It was the weather with temps in the 90s and there is no A/C. It was very warm and at night we did open our windows and that helped somewhat. Also each room had a fridge so you were able to keep cold drinks avaialable. I had selected this property due to its location and price and was well pleased as it was as advertised. Overall an excellant place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyb3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived by car and nobody was there. No problem! What looked like a doorbell had us immediately talking to someone who arrived in 5 minutes *and* reserved a parking space for our rental car. The room was excellent and wonderfully decorated. The breakfast was good. The location was just a couple minutes walk from the market square - EVERYTHING was within an easy walk. This was a welcome change from where we'd stayed the previous couple of nights so that might color the review a bit.

We joked that there'd be no sneaking in at night since the floorboards were so creaky - but in the room there really wasn't a noise problem (unless the window was open, as we had it due to the heat, and there are two people on the street having a LOUD conversation).

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family stayed here the night of June 1, 2013. Our rooms were up several flights of stairs, but we expect that when we stay in old, lovely hotels in Germany. The rooms were very spacious. We had expected a large room for the three of us, but our son was offered his own large separate room. The nice bathroom was only a few steps down the hall. Breakfast was quite ample and delicious. Location is great: a very short walk to the Rathaus square, but in a quieter location on Milchmarkt. Value was quite good.
My complaint: there were prominent "no smoking" signs on our room doors, but there was an extremely heavy cigarette smoke odor in the larger room. We opened the windows and it never went away the whole time we were there. I would rate Gastehaus Edith much higher overall if there was truly no smoking, but had to give it only 2 stars for sleep quality and 2 for cleanliness, both due to the cigarette smoke odor.

Room Tip: If cigarette odor is offensive to anyone in your family, ask for a room that has absolutely no smoki...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location with the town square being just a stones throw away.
We stayed on the 1st floor In a really nice clean spacious room and awoke to a lovely big breakfast (included in room price) of sliced meats, cheese, breads, coffee, jams and cooked eggs if requested.
Free wifi :-)
We would stay there again.

March is in the low season for Rothenburg OBT which is nice for a crowd free walk around the town walls etc. However some restaurants do tend to close early during this season.

Paul & Belen

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank EggANDBelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 45 in Rothenburg
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Adler
Zum Schwarzen Adler
#40 of 45 in Rothenburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Edith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Edith

Address: Milchmarkt 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $75 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Edith 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Edith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing