We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel Schranne and unfortunately it seems that we weren't there at the best time. The hotel seemed to mostly be occupied by a school band troupe who were performing in the central square of the town. This lead to much noise being heard outside and in the corridors in the evenings (which is obviously not the fault of the hotel) and to scant food being left in the morning at breakfast.

Even though we were told breakfast carried on until 10:00am and we arrived at 9:00am, there was very little food left. All of the eggs had gone, there was once slice of bread and most of the meat had been taken. Initially there didn't seem to be any indication that the food would be replenished, until we complained a bit and were eventually brought two plates of fresh scrambled eggs. This was appreciated, but unfortunately it did seem to be quite a reluctant gesture.

The room we stayed in was very basic - with two twin beds and a very small bathroom. To be honest, it was a bit reminiscent of student accommodation. My sister had a much bigger bathroom, which unfortunately wasn't too clean. Our room was clean and comfortable enough and the staff were friendy and attentive (although sometimes it was hard to get served a drink in the front of the hotel and we had to ask for the bill twice one evening).

However, all of that being said, the location of the hotel is outstanding (just a little bit outside of the main area, but close to everything) and there was parking available behind the hotel which was very convenient. The little bonus treat at check-out was lovely too - too bad I just couldn't acquire a taste for schneeballen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was so lovely. We had breakfast and dinner there. The food was amazing, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is brilliant, it is so close to everything. We really enjoyed our stay and have wonderful memories of this place.

Room Tip: Any room would be great here it is so homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and very pleasant. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Price is very reasonable. And the breakfast, which is included, is a great spread and very tasty. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsera713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Most of the hotels were closed in March and we were pleased to find this one. It is right across from the parking area and has plenty of medieval charm. We had a small room for €65 that included breakfast.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Jpedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were a group of 18 people. We arrived a bit before the official check-in time but the staff accommodated where they could and allowed others to store the luggage in the room while the staff was cleaning. Many of us stayed up late in the pub and the owner served us beers and sat with us and talked about her father and how he taught her the English song, "Show me the way to go home, I'm tired and I wanna go to bed . . .". We gave her a gift to show our appreciation that she stayed late just for us. In the morning, she had left a gift (a small Schneeball) for each of us. It was a very special stay for us. The rooms were of very good size, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant / pub was very nice and service was excellent. I have stayed here before and didn't hesitate to stay this time and will stay again. The location is a bit of a walk from the market square (and WeihnachtsMarkt) but it is quiet.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms that overlooked the parking area. They were quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnsomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is a great hotel just inside the walls of Rothenburg. I've stayed in several other places in Rothenburg but have been returning to Schrannne hotel for several years now for its simple, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and good meals. The breakfast is always ample, fresh and delicious, and I highly recommmend half board - dinner is prepared and served with care and the cook is flexible with vegetarian options. I think euro for euro this must be the best value in town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Open late, great location in the old town, close to the walking wall.
has Telekom wifi reception for those who have iPass or so
cheap, and location again!
oh, it also has a big parking right in front of it

Room Tip: forget the room, go out and explore the old town! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#20 of 45 in Rothenburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKZENT Hotel Schranne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKZENT Hotel Schranne

Address: Schrannenplatz 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $99 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AKZENT Hotel Schranne 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel - Restaurant Schranne Familybusiness since 1960 in Rothenburg ob der Tauber The Hotel and Restaurant Schranne is directly in the centre of medival town of Rothenburg. Our kitchen with his own butcher's shop cooks only with regional products. Visit our homepage and take a view of all our offers. You can walk to all attractions in maximum 5 minutes. By car or motocycle we have many parking-lot nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKZENT Hotel Schranne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing