We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
543
169
31
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
169
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparked our carno elevatorperfect locationold towncharming hotelold world charmmiddle of townhuge bathroombreakfast was includedthe main squarechristmas marketstayed longerbeautiful townour room was spaciousno air conditioningtrain stationromantic road
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 753 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this hotel's not very easy to reach by car due to the one-way nightmare! (But they're not alone in this; other hotels in Rothenburg have the same problem) Once you do get there though your problems are over as they park your car for you in private parking a short walk away. We had a warm reception - in fact, all the staff, particularly those in the restaurant, were very friendly. The bedroom and bathroom were well appointed and surprisingly comfortable given the age of the building. (apart from the mattress which could be a bit softer) The food in the restaurant was, in our experience, better than average for the town. The hotel's location, just a couple of minute's walk from the town hall square, is excellent.
The only negative was that the breakfast buffet is squashed into a too-small area and, on the day that the hotel was busy and too many people turned up at the same time, there was rather a lot of jostling going on. However, all in all, we had a good stay and would return to Hotel Markusturm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on a long drive from Vienna to the UK. Rothenburg is just a couple of miles off a main motorway and the hotel is in the centre of what is a very well preserved medieval German walled town. The Sat Nav got us reasonably close but could not cope with the final stretch of narrow one way streets. This was not a huge problem as a short walk located the hotel and they guided us to a spot just outside. After unloading the luggage they then parked the car nearby in their own car park (and brought it back in the morning). This is a friendly and characterful family run hotel. Not uber smart, but our room was large and warm, the beds were comfortable and everything worked as it should. We had an evening meal in their pleasant restaurant which was both excellent and reasonably priced. It was the week before Christmas and the town was packed with tourists enjoying the charm, lights and Christmas markets. We enjoyed our short stay.

Room Tip: We had a superior double on the first floor which had plenty of space and a good bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmmgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a quaint hotel well run by a very nice family. Our room was very comfortable, nothing fancy..which is great for us. The restaurant has very good food and nice wait staff. We made the mistake of driving through the middle of town, very scary! The staff was nice enough to park the car for us, thank goodness! You must not miss Rothenburg!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well run by husband and wife team. Clean and comfortable with a wonderful restaurant. Very well located. The parking is tricky and you may have to ask for directions. The place lives up to its name. Say hello to the nightwatchman!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slederman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Old, very old, but what charm. Filled with all sorts of nooks and crannies and antiques. If you want sleek and modern, don't go here. If you value ambience and sense of place, this was magical. Very well located. Better than average breakfast included. Staff was wonderful. Free WiFi. Rothenberg ob der Tauber could have been built by Disney-if he lived 500 years ago. Only negative was no a/c and no screens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve34531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews