We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A first-rate hotel in the heart of romantic Rothenburg. The service was excellent, the room was spacious and the restaurant outstanding. A definite couple's retreat with easy access to the center of the town or a walk around the city on the covered walls. Note: there is no elevator.

Room Tip: No elevator, so travelers with lots of luggage beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel on a trip to Germany with our daughter and son-in-law. The hotel is inside the city wall in a wonderful location. If you have a car, you can unload in front of the hotel, and the staff will park your car for you which was really nice. Both our rooms were very large and had a sofa and chairs along with the bed. The bathroom in our room was huge and extremely clean. Linens were updated and in great condition. There was free wifi. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly, especially the front desk clerk. The only reason I did not give this hotel an excellent rating is the carpet is starting to show its age and will need to be replaced in the near future, and the breakfast buffet was not quite as nice and did not have the variety of the other hotels we stayed at. Nonetheless, this is a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzoualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We followed the website's driving directions and found the hotel easily (thank goodness - as the roads are all one way). The hotel then took care of parking our car and bringing it to the front of the hotel on check out. Our family room was very large and the sofa beds were made up on arrival for the children. Our room had a terrace which, with the windows open, created a lovely breeze on a couple of very hot days. There was also a much appreciated fan left in the room.
The hotel was located a few minutes stroll from the town square and is very convenient. Breakfast was included in our rate and was varied enough to suit all 5 of us in our group.
My sister unfortunately fell and sprained her ankle during our sightseeing and the hotel were extremely helpful calling a doctor to visit her room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Townriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a beautiful city and is definitely worth the visit. I was a little put off by the city outskirts but once you get inside the wall you understand why it is so popular. The hotel was centrally located close to the city wall and fairly easy to find. My husband and I travelled with our 9 year old daughter and were happy to see that the room was big and had an extra bed for her. The room was clean and the bathroom big and modern. The staff was able to provide helpful suggestions for lunch and provided a map of the town. Breakfast was good as well. Scrambled eggs and other hot dishes were offered in addition to the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youlia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A beautiful city and a beautiful hotel. We traveled with our two boys (7 & 9). We stayed three nights. I love when a European hotel has a room for families. It was absolutely perfect. The staff could not have been nicer to our two boys!!!!! That meant a lot to me considering most people look at my children coming through the door and think "oh sweet Jesus....no"! We liked the staff so much that we felt sad to leave them. The breakfast was good and was a typical European breakfast (jams, cold cuts, eggs, etc). You could not get a better location. It was like waking up in a dream. We got a little lost when trying to find the hotel, but once we got there we relaxed and they took our car. I am looking forward to staying again. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PermanentVaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Romantik Hotel Markusturm located inside the walled city and looked very historic. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. As long as we drove slowly after entering the city, the GPS could lead us to the main entrance of the hotel easily. Hotel staff will help you to park your car at their parking spaces few blocks away.

Our room was very big and the toilet was abnormally big. The toilet was big enough for 4 persons to play mahjong inside. The room was not air-conditioned but equipped with a fan.

The hotel breakfast was nice. The eggs were made to order. The breakfast served with smoked salmons and a variety of cold cuts.

Wi-fi was available everywhere. The signals were a bit unstable but usable.

We have a good stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwkchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of four--2 adults and 2 children under ten--stayed three nights at the Hotel Markusturm last winter, checking in on Dec 29 and out on January 1. I contacted the hotel ahead of our trip for walking directions from the train station, and they were prompt and friendly--always a good sign :-)

Overall our experience was very positive, and we would stay here again without qualms. The staff are very hard-working and conscientious. The hotel is clean, well appointed, cozy and warm. (Pause to check out the pictures that decorate the walls.) The breakfast rooms are lovely, a nice place to start the day. I believe breakfast was included with our family room rate; there was a good range of food choices, though probably somewhat limited by the small serving space. I loved picking my loose-leaf tea and making a fresh pot at the table. The kids loved making their own waffles in the waffle-maker.

The only downside was the expensive New Years Eve celebration (100+ Euro per person), which we opted not to attend because we sensed the kids wouldn't have had fun or been very welcome at the fancy event, and because my husband was sick during our stay there. Coming and going through the party in the lobby was, in his words, "awkward"--like walking through a party to which you're not invited. Dining tables were set up throughout the hotel--a quaint idea but again rather awkward when returning to your room at night and passing couples trying to have a romantic moment! Also, it would be nice of the hotel to offer other options to those who cannot afford or don't want the big dinner--maybe offer a la carte drinks or small meals? Just a thought.

Aside from NY eve, everything went pretty smoothly during our stay. WiFi worked in most areas of the room. On checkout I failed to notice that we had been charged for parking (a reasonable 4 Euro/night, I must say), even though we took the train. After we returned home I was able to sort out the error and get the parking refunded.

If you want to stay inside the wall of RodT, this hotel, of the Romantik chain (but doesn't feel like a chain hotel) is a perfect spot, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $158 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing