We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. Location, service, large room and a superior breakfast made our stay in this truly authentic city perfect. We had dinner there one evening and it was very good. Easy stroll from the train station. Be sure to take "The Night Watchman's" tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    153
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
197
347
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Arrived late after a long drive from Heidelberg. Warmly welcomed, directed to a local restaurant that was still open at a very late hour (after the hotel restaurant was closed) and one they called to make sure was still open. Large rooms. Spotless. Great breakfast.
Wonderful experience. No hesitation in highly recommending this hotel. Only wish that we could have stayed longer.
Spectacular location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtgvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's located in one of the most spectacular small cities in Germany, in a Medieval house full of character and mystic. Service and atmosphere were impeccable. The lady in charge was super nice, and what an I say.... Perfect.
It feel like a home.

Room Tip: Ask for room 106... Be prepared for the largest shower room ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahirschb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights early April. Called on friday night and made it in late, Stephen showed us several rooms to chose from. The beds are typical European style with spilt mattress and duvet covers. Breakfast was good before going out on the town. We did not have a chance to eat dinner at the hotel but they had a good selection of dishes on the menu. The hotel is a block off the market square. The parking is off a couple blocks and the car was parked for us on our arrival. We managed to find it while walking along the historic wall and drove back to the hotel to check out. Our GPS lead us to the hotel first time but some roads are one way and pedestrian only. Recommend the night watchman tour to finish off an evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is not the easiest hotel to find when driving. Our attempts to locate it ended up in a hair-raising attempt to drive down a very narrow one-way street the wrong way. The hotel was well worth the struggle. The reception staff are very welcoming, whisking the car away to be parked elsewhere. Our room was more like a small flat than a hotel room, with separate lounge and bedroom. It was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The hotel is very old - a converted former customs house - and is full of interesting nooks and crannies. Despite its age and charm, however, it is far more comfortable and spacious than many modern hotels we have stayed in. We had our evening meal in the restaurant. Hardly nouvelle cuisine, but very filling. Service was excellent. This really is a gem of a hotel and our only regret is that we only had one night here.

Room Tip: If you are driving, check the location and work out the route in advance. Watch out for one-way stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location, staff, rooms, ambiance, food...wow! Stayed here with my husband and two chihuahuas and they were extremely nice and attentive, they even let us picked our room (each room is decorated with different themes, views, etc.).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeslyRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a wonderful hotel in this touristy little town. We loved that this was run by a family (many hotels in Europe are) and they were all so helpful and nice; helping with parking, providing maps and suggestions, and always friendly. We had room 107 and it was great! Big room and bathroom, nice view over a side street, and rustic furniture. We loved how cozy the hotel was and the attention to details. It's right in the heart of the main streets and there is a small grocer right next door where we could get just about anything.
Normally I like to try new hotels when re-visiting places, but in this case, I would pick this hotel again, hands down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Property: Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing