We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Nearby Hotels
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klosterstueble(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveler rating
528
169
29
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
169
29
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparked our carno elevatorold towncharming hotelperfect locationold world charmyour luggagemiddle of townbreakfast was includedhuge bathroomfamily roomour room was spaciousstayed longerthe main squarechristmas marketbeautiful townvisit rothenburg
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 736 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Undoubtedly the best place to stay in the most beautiful town. We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Makursturm and very pleased with the rooms with so much charm, so wish we could have stayed longer. We had 2 fantastic large rooms with lovely wood panelled ceilings with period styled furnishings, very clean large bathrooms. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, made you feel like family. Being right in the middle of town it was so nice to just walk around the streets and soak up the atmosphere, especially in the evenings and early mornings before the town gets busy. The restaurant served lovely traditional German fare including great beers & wines, ate all our dinners & breakfasts there.
Driving into the town on a busy day was a bit tricky down the narrow streets, but once there the car was unloaded & taken to a secure carpark by the staff, bags were taken up to our rooms whilst we checked in.
I love Rothenberg, it’s the most beautiful town and staying at Hotel Makursturm just adds to the experience. We cannot thank the Berger family & staff at Hotel Makursturm enough for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy-Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with very friendly service , we like others were invited upon check in to select our room which was novel, and the room it self was large and well appointed . These rooms are all very differently decorated and appointed in what is a hotel just next to the city gates and clearly old . This means the rooms have no airconditioning or temperature control which could well be an issue ,as opening windows due to the location isn't really an option . Breakfast was excellent with again friendly and helpful service .
When checking out there was a new system and I spotted that despite wishing to pay in Euros , the sytem wanted and kept reverting the payment into pounds and at about a 6% loss in exchange so beware of this tactic anywhere when paying by CC in a foreign currency. I paid in Cash and the hotel cancelled my credit card without any issue , and subsequently confirmed this for which I was grateful. Overall good location , excellent service , rest is noted above.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 2 nites at this hotel in September 2012 and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. The hotel staff was extremely friendly, spoke English fluently, and had lots of good recommendations for restaurants, tours, etc. We loved our room - they are all different. It was nicely decorated, and very large. The bathroom was also quite large. The hallway on our floor is actually part of the city's wall. The breakfast was enormous and in a nice setting. I would stay here again. Loved this midieval city. It was our favorite place in Germany. Take the tour. It's great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenofthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I had a large room, tastefully decorated in a Bavarian style in a hotel that was centrally located in Rothenburg odT. This is a charming city with its intact medieval walls, and the hotel was equally charming. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant for both of out evenings, and they were very good. Our only complaint was that at breakfast, the staff - which appeared to be short on experience - was overwhelmed by the influx of guests coming during the last hour of breakfast. I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our visit to this jewel of a town was enhanced by our stay at the Markusturm which is conveniently located inside the "Old City". The location puts you right where you want to be in order to enjoy the ambiance of medieval Germany along side the wonderful restaurants and shopping of Rothenburg. (There is even a small grocery right across the street.) The hotel itself is in a centuries old building which has been upgraded to feature well appointed rooms (yes, dependable wifi, too) and comfortable heating/cooling. The in-house restaurant is fine dining, But, the crown jewel is the world class service delivered consistently and in a friendly manner. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews