We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9th Anniversary German Love Affair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was our 5th trip to this wonderful part of Germany and to this amazing hotel. We spent New Years here where we also celebrated out 9th anniversary. As usual, we were not disappointed! The owners the Berger's made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our day very special. We will always return whether it be 2,3 or 4 years, it will always hold a special place in our heart. Thanks again to the Berger's!

Room Tip: We prefer traditional old Germany so chose room 101 or 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 718 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

We loved that all we had to do was give them the keys and they went and parked the car for us. Our room was beautiful. Huge. We definitely would stay there again! Wonderful staff.
Can't say enough good things about it. Good location, easy to walk around the old town

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We arrived from Nuremberg on the train on December 24 for two nights and like our previous visit 5 years ago strolled to the hotel in 10 minutes. We had booked the Christmas Dinner at the hotel so we settled in, got spruced up and showed up at 6:30 pm for a most enjoyable evening. There was champagne and live music for half an hour and then we were seated with a couple from England and another from the USA. The dinner came in courses over 3 hours and believe me the wine flowed (and flowed) and the whole experience was just wonderful. All the previous reports on this property are accurate and it is a nice experience from the moment you walk in the front door. I won't bother repeating everything, just to say that it's still the same as last visit. The new addition of a porter was a good idea as they don't have an elevator so have the young chap lug your bags up to your room and don't forget to give him a tip! The owners and their 13 employees really work hard to make this the best hotel (front desk Andrea and dining room Lissy are "keepers"!) We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiplanesdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Romantik Hotel Markustrum made us fell welcome and at home the minute we walked though the front door. All the staff were eager to assist and please. The breakfast was extensive but make sure you also have dinner at their restaurant. It will not disappoint. Any return trip to Rothenburg will include a stay at this very fine Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Regrettable we stayed only one night but will return again. Being greeted by the porter offering to park our car and bringing it back the next morning is one of the many attention to detail which make this place great. The room was nice and quiet and the bathroom new and sparkling. The breakfast has everything you might wish for including excellent fresh brewed coffee and great selection of boutique teas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Yes, Rothenburg is a very touristy town and yes, the décor and staff were a bit over the top in catering to tourist expectations but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Romantik Hotel Marksturm. Although part of the Romantik hotel chain it had the feel of an independently managed establishment. Most of the furniture was refurbished antique and there was plenty of typically German oak throughout which also lent more of an air of authenticity.

The restaurant was very good and included several local specialties including soups and duck dishes. It’s as good as any other restaurants on the main square but definitely less expensive.

We visited Rothenburg in the fall so there were actually a lot a German tourists plus several large Japanese tour groups. Contrary to our expectations it was therefore not swarming with Americans! Although there are a lot of things about Rothenburg that are kitschy, the architecture and ambiance are not to be missed. The Hotel Marksturm played a large part in our enjoying our brief visit… and we definitely recommend it for couples or families!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzouTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed at this quaint little inn in October, 2011 for two nights during our cross-country tour of Germany. This hotel was the BEST experience we had of our entire trip! The family that runs the inn are so hospitable and friendly and made us feel that we were the only guests there! The food at the restaurant was the very BEST meals we ate our entire trip. The husband owner is the chef and we ate two dinners there. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this quaint little town!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowtwngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $158 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing