We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, valet parking, incredible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best location, valet parking, incredible breakfast”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Regrettable we stayed only one night but will return again. Being greeted by the porter offering to park our car and bringing it back the next morning is one of the many attention to detail which make this place great. The room was nice and quiet and the bathroom new and sparkling. The breakfast has everything you might wish for including excellent fresh brewed coffee and great selection of boutique teas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzanmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    147
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
191
341
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Yes, Rothenburg is a very touristy town and yes, the décor and staff were a bit over the top in catering to tourist expectations but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Romantik Hotel Marksturm. Although part of the Romantik hotel chain it had the feel of an independently managed establishment. Most of the furniture was refurbished antique and there was plenty of typically German oak throughout which also lent more of an air of authenticity.

The restaurant was very good and included several local specialties including soups and duck dishes. It’s as good as any other restaurants on the main square but definitely less expensive.

We visited Rothenburg in the fall so there were actually a lot a German tourists plus several large Japanese tour groups. Contrary to our expectations it was therefore not swarming with Americans! Although there are a lot of things about Rothenburg that are kitschy, the architecture and ambiance are not to be missed. The Hotel Marksturm played a large part in our enjoying our brief visit… and we definitely recommend it for couples or families!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed at this quaint little inn in October, 2011 for two nights during our cross-country tour of Germany. This hotel was the BEST experience we had of our entire trip! The family that runs the inn are so hospitable and friendly and made us feel that we were the only guests there! The food at the restaurant was the very BEST meals we ate our entire trip. The husband owner is the chef and we ate two dinners there. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this quaint little town!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowtwngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and really all the rave reviews are justified.

The hotel, the rooms and the charming and gracious hosts are all exemplary. We had a superior room with a bathroom to die for - large bathtub with shower over and separate shower cubicle among other things. We were ready to give this hotel the 5/5 ratings throughout that we really felt it justified until an incident on the last evening.

The staff on the whole are brilliant and friendly and you couldn't ask for a better experience - but one staff member let them down by making a mistake and then trying to cover instead of acknowledging it and trying to put it right. Won't go into the details - too long.

This was really disappointing after such a wonderful stay, But do please stay here if you are in the area. It really is worth it and the hosts really do treat you as important friends.

As with another reviewer this was part of our Ruby Wedding Celebrations but the hotel was not aware of this. However, you would have thought they knew until the unfortunate incident.

Room Tip: Book early out of the main season and get an upgrade to a superior room for the price of a standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Yes, Yes and Yes - It's All True!

They take your luggage and haul it upstairs before you can protest.

They park the car for you for a pittance per day to keep it in their garage.

"They", in our case, was Stephen, the owner. We arrived early - no problem! My husband was carrying wine in a carton and it fell though and broke on the hall rug - no one made us feel bad about it (although we did). They treated us like treasured friends. The whole staff did, but I have to credit Stephen and his wife, Lilo, for creating this warmly personal and personable experience for the weary traveler.

To arrive in Rothenburg ob de Tauber with a reservation at the Hotel Markusturm is the only way to do it. Yes, it was the most expensive of the hotels we booked for our 2 weeks in Southern Germany - but by only a few euros - and it was by far the best.

I rate hotels on 4 things: no smells (especially no mold or mildew), cleanliness (no evidence of bedbugs or anything else from former occupants), sleeping comfort (!) and ... drum roll ... do I feel confident in running a bath and soaking in the tub? Well - 4 huzzahs - and 5 stars for Hotel Markusturm!

When we came down for the most bountiful "included" breakfast at any of our other fine hotels during our 2 week trip, there was a tasteful "Happy Birthday" message and a "Reserved" card on the table that we had had a fabulous dinner at the night before. They had divined the fact that it was my 65th birthday from the reservation form - we hadn't told them.

The restaurant is first rate. My husband is still raving about the chicken liver appetizer - imagine that! - raving about a chicken liver appetizer - it was that good! The rest of the meal was also first rate, but we were having too good a time to take notes.

The bed was the most comfortable of our entire time in Germany. I had my first (and best) good night's sleep, 11 nights into our 17 day trip. The location of the hotel couldn't be better - smack dab in the middle of town, but a block away from the hub bub.

We can't wait to go back. Any future trip to Germany will be built around 2 or 3 nights at the Hotel Markusturm at Rothenburg ob de Tauber.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PomMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel. It is run by the Berger family and we were warmly welcomed by Lilo Berger, one of the owners. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and she put us into the honeymoon suite! The accommodation was excellent and the breakfast very good with a wide choice of items. Our check out experience was also excellent as was our interaction with every member of staff during our two day stay. They all made us feel especially welcome.

The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of old Rothenburg and is one of the beautiful medieval buildings in the old town. This is a beautiful hotel with excellent facilities and superb customer service. We wouldn’t hesitate to strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here this past weekend. It was a wonderful experience! The rooms were very spacious, the bedding was great, and the staff was very helpful! We especially loved the parking situation. We have a large truck which is not always easy to park. However, we gave the front desk our keys, they valet parked it and we had no worries for our stay! We will definitely be staying here again when we pass through Rothenburg again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tldani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Markusturm

Property: Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Address: Roedergasse 1, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Romantik Hotel Markusturm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Romantik Hotel Markusturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing