We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Franconian Fare”
Review of Glocke

Glocke
Ranked #14 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Minneapolis MN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty Franconian Fare”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was good with lots of local dishes featured. This restaurant brings in the bus tours so it isn't a real quiet place to eat. But, it is fine for lunch. The staff are efficient and reservations aren't required --walk-ins appeared to be welcomed as the staff put us in one of the small rooms for a table for two. If you don't like a touristy atmosphere, well, this restaurant isn't for you. We ordered off the menu which was varied but the bus tour groups seem to all get the same thing to eat with it prepared ahead of time, more than likely, to serve so many people at one time.

I ordered the Liver and onions and apples with mashed potatoes and chives mixed together. There was a gravy base which the liver and onions and apples sat in, a green salad with a yogurt dressing which appears in a lot of restaurants in this Franconian town. My husband ordered the Kammbraten (pork roast with potato dumpling) and also a green salad with the same dressing. Our lunches came to 28 euros.

Another day, we stopped by for beers and apple strudel which I highly recommend.

We would go here again for lunch as the food was filling, service was good and the place was definitely lively to watch the crowd in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    62
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hiratsuka Japan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Typical Franconian fare, but better than most tourist restaurants”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate here twice for dinner as part of a group. The food quality was very good, and above what I have come to expect from tourist restaurants. Nothing spectacular, but very competent and tasty fare. The decor is nice, what one might expect in this town, and all was clean and in good order. The staff was friendly, and I would rate this restaurant as tourist friendly. Where this restaurant is clearly outstanding is its wine offerings. The owner is a vinter and stocks a fine selection of Franconian wines. I found his own brand to be superior in every way.

This resataurant handles large bus tour groups as well as walk in customers so beware that at certain times it can be extremely busy, with most tables reserved or taken. Eat early to avoid the crush. While we were there two bus loads of Japanese tourists arrived. The staff didnt miss a beat and our service wasnt affected. Clearly well trained and experienced.

I can recommend this restaurant for good solid Franconian fare. Mid scale, not overly expensive, but also tasty and well presented.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“"Down Home" German!!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a lovely find..................wonderful restaurant that is also a hotel and winery (and they have their own vineyards, off-site).

Their food is Franconian style.........a "region" of Germany. The potato soup is quite good. Their mashed potatoes are the best ever..............I love my mashed potatoes swimming in gravy so I was disappointed when they were served without............BUT..........the smell of butter made me realize that a taste treat was awaiting..............AND IT WAS!!!

The 'wine-sauerkraut' was equally good as were the home-made Bratwurst.

And......their wines are equal to their food, especially (in our opinion) the Muller-Thurgau which is made "medium dry".

The member of the 5th generation works the restaurant, including serving the food. If in Rothenburg don't miss it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lunch in Rothenberg”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We experienced this popular restaurant as part of a bus tour to Rothenberg and found the service efficient and cordial. The restaurant is a 5 generation family restaurant (since 1898) known for its local dishes. We had potato soup, bratwurst, sauerkraut and mashed potatoes with apple strudel for desert, and a glass of local German wine. And, it all was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LCplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So so experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had reserved a table for two in the morning and when we came we had the unpleasant surprise to be seated in the middle of the waiters way. We asked to be reseated at a better table since most of tables were still unoccupied, but were roughly told "not possible!".
The food and the wine we ordered were OK. The service was done slowly without much word or smiles from anyone.
This is a very touristic city, and the restaurateur knows that everyday brings a new crowd and it shows.
September 22, 2012

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JYFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glocke also viewed

 

Been to Glocke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing