We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Rothenburg
from $121.28
More Info
from $151.59
More Info
from $3.36
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
50
47
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
47
6
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

I exited Rothenburg via the Spital Bastion. It was getting dark so just a quick visit. Looked very cool! Interesting architecture too!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 857kirstenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

This is the most beautiful and well preserved gate in the medieval town. You can even explore it inside, though you cannot climb to the top.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ana_L_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017

On our city wall walk we came across this massive fortified gate way and learnt later this was the last fortified gateway to the town built. This was modern for it’s time and had provision for cannons to defend the area, we walked into a doorway at one end that led to a walkway up high that went the length of the building and came out the other side, we then walked beside the grassed moat up onto the road and then through the outer gate to the inner fortified Spital Bastion. Beside the outer gate is a customs house and watch tower.
The keystone at the top of the arch on the outer gate reads as follows.
PEACE TO THOSE THAT ENTER. FAREWELL TO THOSE THAT LEAVE.
A very impressive entrance to a well fortified town .
One has to visit to take it all in and get the real feel of this lovely old town.
At this point down in the grassed moat there is a kids playground , maybe a breather for the kids and adults who need a rest from the wall .

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Spital Bastion was one of the tower gate in the Rothenburg walled town. When you walked up and saw the moat, you would wonder if this place was a fortress or just a walkway. May be people in the medieval time used this area together with the necessary weapons to defend the outsiders. A nice place to see and think of the past history.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

We enjoyed walking along the old city walls and the Spital Bastion was one of the larger towers. we explored this area before getting back on the wall to continue our walk. beautiful views from this tower.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews