We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous peaceful rooms”
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eisenhut
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Caledonia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous peaceful rooms”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Opening the door to my double bed room, first thing I noticed were the almost floor to ceiling windows that had sheers over them. One swing of the antique window hinges, I was hit with a beautiful breeze while overlooking the golf course in the distance....

The rooms were spacious, the bed comfortable and the soaker tub was wonderful after walking around town all day.

The hotel is situated verily close to the middle of the town, with valet parking waiting for you when you walk thru the front doors.

The feel of the hotel is welcoming and the hotel staff are very friendly. We had a hard time getting onto the internet but the staff helped set everything up.

I'm looking forward to my return visit :)

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms facing the back of the hotel on the second floor or up, because of the view, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    218
    61
    14
    12
See reviews for
152
336
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Part of the Arvena Hotel group, The Hotel Eisenhut was a fantastic choice. Centrally located and as close to medieval as one can get with dark wooden arched doorways, Gutenberg type bibles, catholic and reformation vignettes, grottos, Christian frescoes and statues with the blood of Jesus clearly the message, heavy drapes and deep colors of cabernet. The hotel was built between 1485 and 1510. I might call it updated Gothic. The room was large with a window that opened to a fantastic long range view. The bathroom had a toilet and bidet behind a drape, while the main bathroom area was spotlessly white with gleaning glass shower doors over a perfect old clean polished tub. The breakfast the next day was excellent and the most expansive of our trip. There was champagne, oranges and an orange press, freshly baked breads including authentic croissants, pastries, and a full range of items found on German breakfasts (cheeses, meats, pates) along with a bounty of fresh fruit including kiwis, etc. There was also Wi-Fi, elevator, free parking (if you pay attention to times on signs), valet. They sell elegant gifts too. Friendly staff. There are hotels like this, but none exactly like this one. Unique, great rate. PERFECT location in center of medieval Rothenburg. The ONLY CON I could find is that while there is free Wi-Fi, it is throttled so you can use your maximum by Skyping for example. That is a mistake on their part, and rather cheap and narrow minded, so in an otherwise stellar review, they should immediately change that policy AND they should tell you upfront.

Room Tip: Tell them when you check in their hotel advertises free Wi-Fi and you will not accept it being throt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Driving into the town, all my husband could keep saying was how cute, how cute is this!!

The hotel is a well preserved hotel with unbelievable charm! It has a tiny lift which I was impressed it even had one. We had 2 deluxe rooms that were very spacious with balconies with beautiful views of countryside/town. Bathrooms were huge and not modern but with the hotel charm with modern devices. Our bathroom was pink marble but fit the hotel style, and extremely clean. Because it is an older hotel there is no air conditioning which was fine for us when we stayed as it was really cool outside. They did have fans in the room in needed, which was nice.
Very surprised at how sound proof the hotel was. We didn't hear a thing and knew the hotel was fully booked.

Restaurant; food was good, Breakfast offered a wide variety.

At this point in our trip we were growing a little tired of German food so tried the Italian restaurant right across the street. We each ordered a mini pizza and they were awesome!! Great authentic Italian food! A wide variety of pizza and pastas.

Walked the wall, a must do, also the Night watchman tour is a must!

Hotel staff: very pleasant and helpful

Location: right next to Christmas store!!!! Right next to town square. Location was awesome!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms that over look back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our tour of Germany in June 2014. The hotel is made up of 4 beautiful homes owned by the same family. No two rooms are the same and we were delighted when we opened the door to our room It was large with a large bathroom and even had a bidet which I have to say was a little intimidating for this American!

The staff were helpful and glad to give us advice on the delightful walled city of Rothenburg. We indulged in the breakfast buffet both mornings we stayed here and it was delicious with many local choices and some familiar favorites.

Be sure to check out the patio in the back of the hotel that looks out over the walls of the city.

There was no air conditioning but in May we did not miss it.

If you are traveling to Bavaria, Germany make sure to stop in this town. The history is everywhere and the town is inviting and feels like you have stepped back in town. But I have to say we probably have it better than the original townspeople because we have the advantage of indoor plumbing!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and did not have a problem with noise. Other members of our group w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missysperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This was a charming hotel with a very short walk to the market square. The hotel staff where very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was excellent for a modest additional charge.

There are several restaurants near the hotel and a Christmas shop next to the hotel where the spouse made several euros disappear.

My only criticism was the rooms appeared to be a bit dated. Fresh carpeting and paint are needed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were travelling around the Romantic Road, Germany, and we stayed in Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, in Hotel Eisenhut. This is a hotel with excellent location, service and cleaning. Also has a fantastic restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a very very old, classic hotel with over 200 years (started as a lodge for visitors). It is located just at the center of the city, seconds walk from the churches, market square, the fabulous Christmas store and the coffee bars. The room is large but has no air conditining, we had to open the windows (early June we had nearly 30 C temperatures). It has a nice shower, a small fridge underneath the TV and a great classic restaurant (but extremely pricey). But do go for dinner once in a lifetime, as it is a very charming place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardoCarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Property: Hotel Eisenhut
Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing