We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Rothenburg”
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eisenhut
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location. Located next to the Kathe Wohlfahrt Christmas shop and steps from the center where the Xmas markets are set up. The room was large with a big/double bathroom. Your car is taken and parked in a lot for you. The hotel has a very nice restaurant and bar. All were polite with the exception of 2 waiters who were less than friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear JJKID

thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your room and the service in our restaurant.

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 714 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay just off the town square. Rooms are unique and quaint. I highly recommend this hotel. Plenty of local shops and restaurants nearby. Renaissance fair was going on when we visited. You definitely get the feel of 15-16 century while in Rothenberg.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Truckerken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Truckerken63,

thank you for the nice review about your stay in our hotel and Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

All the best for 2014!

Best wishes from the Hotel Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel Eisenhut is centrally located to the town of Rothenburg, a town that is quaint and scenic but is essentially where you want to be for all your German shopping mementos. The Hotel is old but well maintained and the rooms surprisingly large but European standards.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, no duplicates. Street side could be noisy until later in the day but I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnC7531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear JohnC7531

thank you for your great review about your stay in our Hotel Eisenhut in Rothenburg.
We have been delighted to read your comments.

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Reviewed October 21, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a nice, old hotel. It is a bit tricky to get to. The rooms were large, and the bathrooms were almost as large. Check in was easy, and the front desk staff was very helpful. They have a garage you can park in, but I think it is about 12 euros per night, and it requires you to use a valet. The restaurant lunch was good, and the breakfast was very good. The town itself is like going back to the 1500's. So much to see. The Christmas shop next door was a mad house, so go across the street to the same one with a lot less people! Also, don't miss out on the nightwatchman tour -- very interesting and entertaining.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol-in-colorado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear carol-in-colorado22,

thank you for your nice review about your stay in our hotel. We have been delighted to read your comments about our rooms and service. We offer valet parking for 10,00 Euro per night, which includes that we will park your car in our garage and if you are checking out, we will bring the car in front of the hotel. But you are also allowed to park your car in our garage, if you like to.

Hope to welcoming you again in the Hotel Eisenhut.
Best wishes
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is a beautiful old 15th century lodging with wonderful art, furnishings and clearly some of the struggles that go with it. The beautiful old staircase wanders all over the place. We purchased a package price which included breakfast and dinner and we were really pleased with both. Service was wonderful in the dining room for dinner, and the breakfast was one of the best we have had. They even have a station with a rice steamer and chop sticks for Asian guests. There was an excellent breakfast selection both hot and cold.
We came here knowing from reading Trip Advisor Reviews that Internet could be a problem, and it was. It took a full day to get on. We had a similar problem at the NH hotel in Amsterdam, and in both cases it was Swisscom as the provider, and there were similar issues, especially for Apple Device users. Swisscom I believe is be the problem, not so much the hotels. It seems that once you go into your Apple device ( we had computer, iPad, and iPhone) you must go to the browser settings and allow cookies for third party providers. Once we did that, and Swisscom got back on line...they were off for a full day....then we got mail!!!
One more thing to note. If you are particular about having a shower, be sure to say so when you book. Our room has a lovely tub, big enough for two, which a hand held shower head and no curtain. Needless to say, there was a lot of water all over the room by the time my very tall husband tried to wash his hair with the handheld. ...but the tub was fun!!!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building, and ask for a shower if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Beth D,

thank you for your time to write this nice and helpful review.
We have been delighted to read your comments about our breakfast buffet and the service quality as well. Thank you for your comment about our provider Swisscom. That was more than helpful for us, to show Swisscom, that we have really big problems with the data line. Now the problems are finally solved. Thank you so much!

Best wishes from all members of staff
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Entering the hotel is like transporting to the 15th century. The lobby and our room are filled with antique paintings, sculptures and furniture which perfectly suits the medieval town of Rothenburg. The hotel is located near the town square, pharmacy and the famous Käthe Wohlfahrt.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank WhoooopsyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Daisy P,

thank you for your time to write this review about your stay in the Hotel Eisenhut.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Best wishes from the Eisenhut
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $108 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Patrician Mansions dating back to the 16th century are one hotel today: 78 comfortable and individually furnished rooms and suites for you to choose from. In the historical part of the hotel treat yourself to some fine food and drinks in our restaurant and bar. Whatever occasion you have to celebrate, our banqueting rooms offer the perfect setting. The new building has, air-conditioned meeting rooms and the great garden patio with wonderful views over the Tauber Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing