We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eisenhut
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me and my wife spent two nights here and it was quite a pleasant stay. One thing I want to highlight to other travelers if you are driving is the entrance to the town as it looks more like an entrance to a castle. We were using the GPS system and we purposely did not follow it when we passed by as we thought it could not be it... And at other times we also noticed other visitors turning around at the entrance... On Hotel Eisenhut, it does have a lift reaching 1/2/3 floors (note there are in between floors you need to climb a few steps) at the main building so carrying our luggages was not an issue. We had a room 229 on 2/F facing the street. It was quite spacious. As mentioned by others, there is no air-con but to be fair, this seems common to other hotels as well in the town. But it was quite cool in the night and it was not an issue for us. However, it was a bit noisy before 10-11pm due to car/restaurant reasons. So next time I probably will request for a room facing the valley. Service was great in the hotel and wifi was ok with the help from the reception. Overall, pretty happy with the stay. Will for sure come back.

Room Tip: Get a room in Main building facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyandPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear StanleyandPandora.

thank you for your great review about your stay with us. We have been delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Best wishes from the Eisenhut-Team
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    212
    61
    14
    12
See reviews for
147
334
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
350 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Eisenhut is one of the star hotels in the town and turned out to be a larger operation than we'd imagined. We stayed two nights and throughout our stay there were large coach groups arriving and departing, so it wasn't quite what we'd had in mind when we booked the hotel. Nevertheless, our room 106 was spacious and clean, overlooking the street at the front of the main building. It was hot and sticky whilst we were there, so we were pleased to open windows and to be able to leave them so during the day. No such luck at night time though, because the voices from the street below went on till pretty late. No air conditioning, of course.
The style of the room is in keeping with the hotel - traditional and rather old fashioned - and the bathroom a bit of a squeeze. We appreciate that it's not easy to update an historic building but some furnishings did appear tired.
Our main grumble was the attitude of the staff, particularly in relation to the complimentary wifi, which is troublesome and clearly an issue here. With one notable exception, requests to the perpetually busy front desk were answered grudgingly and responses lacked warmth.
The breakfast buffet offered a good selection, though the coach parties place added pressure at times. The staff here worked hard to ensure all wishes were satisfied and the buffet well stocked.
As we checked out, we mentioned the trouble we'd had with the wifi (which actually stopped working altogether) and received an honest and understandable explanation from a weary staff member who had clearly explained this several times that day already. The wifi itself wasn't essential but the frustration created by a lack of information could have been avoided.
Ultimately, The Eisenhut is an historic hotel in a popular historic location and doesn't have to try very hard - those coachloads will keep coming.
I think we'd look elsewhere for our next stay.

Room Tip: An historic hotel with varying levels may prove challenging to those with mobility issues. Not all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear elegantraveller,

thank you for your helpful comments and your review about your stay in our hotel.
I am very sorry, that you felt not completely comfortable with us. We also have touring groups in the high season. But we want to make each stay of our guests to something special. In fact we had very big problems with our Wifi, which were finally solved. The reception staff tried to help everyone to solve the Internet-problems. We are sorry, that this has not been felt.

I'm hoping to seeing you next time back with us and welcome you again in the Eisenhut.

Best wishes from Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager



Best wishes from Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently spent 1 night at Hotel Eisenhut. We arrived at 1 p.m. and had to wait for our room until 3 p.m. The location is wonderful, right near the main square and next door to the Christmas Shop. The temps were high in Rothenburg (mid 90's) and once in our very hot and steamy room, we realized we had no air conditioning and only a very tiny fan to try to cool the room down. The windows open, but without screens, so we weren't able to just leave them open while we were out. The night temps in the room were horrifically hot and we had a very rough night's sleep. We asked for an additional fan, or a bigger fan but one was not available. The room itself was very clean, and that was nice. The bathroom is large, but the toilet is almost in the tub! It is squeezed into a crevice between the tub and wall and is not easily maneuvered. The breakfast was very nice and a good price. The hotel itself was great location wise, everything was very nearby, but the unbearable temps in the room were awful. At least buy more fans!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun_seeker_minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear sun_seeker_minnesota,

thank you so much for you detailed review. We were very pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us. We're sorry that it's been too hot in the room. The hotel is a listed building, so it is not allowed to set up an air conditioner.Normally, the thick walls keep out most of the heat. But you are right, this summer was really hot in Germany. We have already bought more fans for our guestrooms. Thank you for this helpful comment.

Best wishes from Rothenburg
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel has 2 locations directly opposite each other and is right in the heart of the old town . The hotel has an old world feel that suites the style of Rothenburg. Rooms are a little dated but comfortable and very spacious.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, as we wanted something a little more simple and less expensive. The dinner on offer was a set menu for 3,4 or 5 courses starting at €28 per person with €15 extra for wine pairing.

Breakfast was very decent with a large selection.

Only disappointment was the 200Mb limit on the rooms Wifi, after which they charge you €9 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Dean79

Thank you for your kind review. Thank you also for your suggestion to our wifi. At the moment everything will be done for a new data line, so we hope to provide better wifi connection here soon. Thank you & all the best.

Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Staying in Eisenhut is kind of like staying in some nice, old house. Which is really what you are doing, as it was formerly mansions of the city's rich. The decor matches the character of the buildings, and creates a pretty fun atmosphere, a nice change after staying in a long line of faceless, institutionalized hotels as we traveled prior to this stop. The beds are ... okay, the bathrooms are ... okay, but the feel of the place made it seem like a great stop.

The biggest advantage is its placement in the city. Smack dab in the center of town, a great hub for checking out the city. This placement does make it a bit harder to get there, as most streets downtown are limited access and there are plenty of one-ways. A GPS really is a big help in getting to the hotel. Parking is valet in a locked lot (actually a bunch of old stables) several blocks away, and is only 10 euros - a pretty good value. WiFi is free, which is a big plus, too. Breakfast was pretty good.

All in all, a fun little place that's a pretty decent stop for one night, especially if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear travelingd0c,

thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay in our hotel.
We have been delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you with us again!
Best wishes from all members of staff

Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed there two nights and we thought we were in another era of time like the 1600's. The room was great and the staff wonderful. Since the hotel is so old the tv reception is horrible. But other than that everything is great. We enjoyed the tour of the night watchman which was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear cazu247

thank you for your nice review. We have been delighted to read your comments.
It would be very kind of you, if you will send me a message, so I can check in which room the TV reception is not enough. Thank you for the suggestion.

Best wishes from the Eisenhut in Rothenburg

Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Why this hotel has high reviews I don't know. It smelt old & musty. The room we stayed in looked like it hadn't had a refurbishment in 30 years other than the nice curtains & sitting chairs. Our minibar fridge didn't work, there wasn't any air conditioning ....so we didn't enjoy our stay at all. Whilst we were very disappointed with this "4 star" hotel, the staff were very friendly & helpful and the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Narelle-Australia

Thank you for taking the time to send this review about your stay in our house. We're very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Each of our room is unique and beautifully decorated with different period furniture and antiques. I am sorry, that we did not meet your taste. Nevertheless, I am pleased that we were able to score with our service and the hotel's location. Thank you for your comments.

Best wishes from the Eisenhut-Team

Steffanie Schlag / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Property: Hotel Eisenhut
Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing