We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the center of everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eisenhut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eisenhut
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In the center of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Traditional and authentic! This was steps from The Watchman's Tour, the city wall, and many very good restaurants. The room had a beautiful view of the countryside, and comfortable bed & bath, great water pressure in shower. The hotel restaurant has a beautiful terrace. We were delighted to find this wonderful spot, and the parking was perfect as you drove to the front of the hotel and they handled the car for a nonimal fee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2tripalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear luv2tripalot,

we were delighted to read your comments.
Thanks for the positive review of your stay in our hotel.
Best wishes from all members of staff!

Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    204
    55
    12
    12
See reviews for
144
313
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Charming old hotel in the heart of the old city of Rothenburg. If you enjoy medieval surroundings, this is the place for you. Charming rooms, friendly and service-minded staff, great breakfast buffet, free internet, great view both in the direction of the City center and from the terrasse.
Parking in separate stalls.
If you do not want to wade in tourists - do not select the tourist season. If you don't mind - it is a beautiful place in the summer light.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the city square. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docadhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArvenaHotels, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear docadhoc,

We hope you had a good and save journey back home. Thank you so much for your great review.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Sunny wishes from Rothenburg!
Steffanie Schlag - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

At first we were a bit disappointed that the old section was completely booked and we would have to stay in the part across the street, but the room was virtually the size of a suite, so that was a nice surprise. Breakfast was only so-so. The location was very good but pretty much anywhere is close to everything as the town is so small.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed just one night in Hotel Eisenhut in late June. The hotel feels like it was built ages ago, with creaky stairs, antiques, and knight's armor everywhere. It really has a lovely feel to it. We paid a little extra for the "historic city view" and were very glad we did. The views are amazing! The rooms were very large, with nice bathrooms, but everything seemed a bit worn (the rooms seemed to have been last renovated in the 60's or 70's--the decor was nice, but showing lots of wear and tear). We were there during a heat wave, and it was very hot in the hotel (no air conditioning anywhere), but they put good fans in the rooms and it cooled off enough at night that we could sleep. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. The town of Rothenburg is beautiful and definitely worth a short visit. One night felt like enough though as it is very small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked two rooms through internet, and one of them was on the anex, meaning that you have to go across the street to get to reception / bar / dinning rooms.
The main building is great, either with street or back door rooms (which are quieter on weekends).
Breakfast are wonderfull and are worth the extra price they ask for them.

Room Tip: just ask for main building, not the anex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorbianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my second stay at Hotel Eisenhut. The staff is lovely (and speak excellent English), the rooms are spacious and spotless and view is spectacular. The hotel is about a three minute walk to the Markplatz and Rathaus and is right in the center of the historic city center.
Excellent stay, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I request a room in the back that overlooks the hills and countryside and has a balcony. Lovely time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear abt9904,

thank you so much. We are very happy about your new review.
We look forward to your third stay in the Eisenhut.

Best wishes from all members of staff

Steffanie Kretzschmar
Hotel Manager / Hotel Eisenhut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you go to Germany, you must spend a night or two in Rothenburg. This is a place to love and cherish. The Hotel Eisenhut is right on the main square and we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this town. Could not believe that a medieval town still exits as it was back then and the hotel is so full of antiques. The dining room in this hotel was like stepping back into Romeo and Juliet. Unbelievable ambience. And the food was great. We spent two nights in Rothenburg and it was the best thing we did. No other city compared. We drove a rental car the whole week we were in Germany and made out just fine. Driving down the narrow streets of Rothenburg was doable, but and experience. We pulled up outside the hotel and they parked the car for us while we were there. No need for a car as the city is entirely walkable. We made reservations ahead of time for the parking which cost us 17 Euros. So much to see and do withing a block or so of this hotel. My husband does not like to walk and so he was thoroughly entertained in that small area. Outdoor cafes, museums, you name it. I like to walk and walked most of the town. Do not miss going up on the wall and walking the old town wall and going up in the tower. Great photos from the tower. Go early, as there is only a small space on the top of the tower. I had to practically pull myself up the last steps, not for the faint-hearted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tauber Valley. We sat on our private balcony and enjoyed the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Eisenhut, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Marlene S,
thank you for your detailed review. We were very pleased with your description.
We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
Steffanie Kretzschmar
Hotel Manager / Hotel Eisenhut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eisenhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eisenhut

Property: Hotel Eisenhut
Address: Herrngasse 3-5/7 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eisenhut 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Eisenhut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing