We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate especially the pastries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Basic but adequate especially the pastries”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

About 2 blocks after you enter Rothenburg through one of the 6 city gates, on your right is the hotel. Really it is a bakery/cafe (as we were told - not a restaurant) with a hotel above. So you turn right down the ally to park on the right then check in downstairs at the bakery. Staff friendly and efficient. Drag your luggage through the side entrance, up the stairs to your room. That's basically it. Clean with bed. No phone, fridge or English cable channel. Internet is 2 euros per hour but it does have a hair dryer! However, the location is great and the pastry shop delicacies are amazing especially the included breakfast. Very functional for our one night stay and I would stay there again if only for the pastries!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited the cafe here, while on a two day visit to Rothenburg. We ordered a couple of pastries, both of which turned out to be dry and stale. We ordered a pot of hot chocolate, which holds about 3 and a half cups, and the server, one of the owners, brought us two cups of hot chocolate. My wife reminded him that we had asked for a pot and he replied that he would just charge us for a pot, which was ten cents less than the price for two cups. That's nice, but we ended up not getting what we ordered and less product that we were supposed to get.

When it was time to leave, my wife waved to the server to get his attention, who looked right at her, and she asked him to bring our check. He ignored her. She then asked him (she speaks German), when he walked by ten minutes later, to bring our check. Again, he ignored her, and returned to his chair where he continued reading the paper. He appeared to have a point to make that he was offended that my wife had asked for a pot of hot chocolate, and was going to delay us as a protest of some sort. So.... after the second attempt at getting a check, we stood up and put on our coats in preparation to leave. He then jumped up, ran over, and starting calculating our bill in front of us. I paid him exact change and left.

There are so many other good places in Rothenburg to visit, pass on this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with my five friends in January 2013. It was a relaxing and comfortable experience. Our room was very nice and had all the necessary things. Staff was very generous and polite. They tried their best to make us feel at home and never refused us for any services. Coffee and hot snacks they provided in the late night hours were amazing. Food, especially breakfast was very yummy. Thanks to the entire team, they co-operated very well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibaut J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located, just inside the gate and above a pastry shop, what could be better? I have stayed here several times and even brought a small school group here. It is the kind of place you don't have to worry so much about when traveling with children: a simple, not too new decor and very clean. Owners are kind, but somewhat shy. There are showers in some rooms, just ask. I love the double-hung windows and the view of tiled roofs. A fine two star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were 4 travellers and had the apartment in the hotel just before in late December 2012. The check-in at the hotel was slightly strange, since you have to ask at the counter in the cafe - definitely not your traditional check-in counter! The check-in procedure itself was very smooth though.

The apartment, up two flights of fairly narrow stairs, has a lot of space, including a large kitchen and lounge. The bathroom has both a shower and a bath, with a seperate toilet. The kitchen is well equiped, although there is a coffee machine but no kettle or microwave - if you want a cup of tea you need to boil water on the stove. (The cafe sells bread and cake - quite convenient to make your own sandwiches upstairs) From the lounge and main bedrooms there are lovely views down the streets of old-town Rothenburg. All of the tourist sites in the old town are within walking distance, as are a number of shops and restaurants.

The breakfasts were very good, with fresh bread rolls, cold meats, cheese, a selection of jams, muesli, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit juice and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. The staff were friendly and competent, and check-out also went smoothly - there were no unexpected costs.

Staying here was a very pleasant experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVictorMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great position only short walk from train station and from the old town. Above a cafe, beautiful smells of kitchen arose-snee balls an absolute treat here. Room was clean and spacious. Included breakfast satisfying.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After entering the eastern Gate of the city ,at the first corner on the right, there is a pastry shop, with rooms to let on the upper floors.There is a gratis open private parking .We stayed
in a double room & bathroom on the 1st floor [no elevator]. The room was good with all the basics, clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast had a small but basic buffet. The owners were nice. For 74 euro ,with my car being parked below, and at 300mt from the Marktplatz, I was happy. Our main target was to walk around the beautiful city and its wall, and to have an easy to find comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 45 in Rothenburg
54 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#28 of 45 in Rothenburg
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hocher Hotel & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hocher Hotel & Cafe

Property: Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Address: Galgengasse 39, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Garni Frei)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hocher Hotel & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hocher Hotel & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing