We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allow some time and buy the photo pass!”

Imperial City Museum (Reichsstadtmuseum)
Ranked #14 of 62 things to do in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum explores the long history of the city, with a strong focus on the Thirty Years War.
Wenatchee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Allow some time and buy the photo pass!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

On our first visit to Rothenburg we didn't visit the Reichsstadt. There were so many other things to do we just didn't take the time. This time we made sure to visit and not only were we sorry we didn't visit the first time, we were sorry we didn't allow enough time this trip.
Three things I wish I knew before I visited: 1) The Reichsstadtmuseum collection is vast and incredibly interesting. If you enjoy history at all (and if you're in Rothenburg, you probably do) you'll enjoy this museum. Don't pass it by. 2) The museum's hours. We didn't pay enough attention and the staff had to call time on us. Go earlier in the day and you'll be able to take your time and enjoy it. 3) Buy the photo pass. Just do it. It's only a few additional euro and it will be worth it. Trust me. We didn't buy the pass and several times we wished we had. Sooo many unique and interesting items and artwork! (And yes, they are watching!) (In lieu of the photo pass, we did purchase the museum's catalog, but it is only in German and doesn't encompass nearly the full scope of what you see within the museum.Buy the pass!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    53
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buehler
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great collection for historical European martial arts”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Well presented and labelled, a collection of European weapons from especially the Late Middle Ages and Renaissance. The curators have added extracts from contemporaneous martial arts treatises, such as Joachim Meyer, Achille Marozzo and others, to illustrate weapons use and tactics.
The Hofburg in Vienna, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, the Wallace in London may have more famous pieces, but as a collection, the Baumann gives a great overview over the range of top-class weaponry in action from about 1400-1700, though with many fine earlier and later pieces as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Stibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing collection well worth the time”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were very impressed with the collection in this museum and were glad that we'd decided to visit it. It provides an excellent look back at the history of the area and showed what a rich city Rothenburg was in its prime. It appears to be a relatively small museum from the outside but has an extensive arms collection, a small Jewish history section, the old kitchen as it was and various other collections from the area in its heyday.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groebenzell, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reichsstadtmuseum”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This has a lot of the towns history hidden inside the walls of the old convent. I enjoyed it very much and visited it several times during my stay there in 2010.
The only thing is that you can take photos there but you have to sign a waiver that you won't use them for anything but your own use and you are given a sticker to wear so that the observers know you are allowed to take photos.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lilbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Impressive collections of weapons and steins”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This little place has it all...so to speak as far as the city goes. It has wonderful collections of porcelain and weapons but also has other bits and pieces of this old old city's history. It is at the far end of town on the wall and is really worth a run through if you have 1-2 hours of time. We loved the instruments (there are not a lot of them but they are fun) as well as the apothecary redo...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial City Museum (Reichsstadtmuseum) also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Imperial City Museum (Reichsstadtmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing