Though an Ev. church, there is more to see at the interior than in other Ev. churches. The Franciscan monastery Rothenburg o.d. Tauber is a former monastery of the Friars Minor (Franciscan Conventuals) in Rothenburg ob der Tauber in Bavaria in the Diocese of Bamberg. The former Abbey Church is today Evangelical Lutheran parish church. The monastery consecrated to the Virgin Mary, founded in 1281 by Hermann von Horn, Mayor and others. 1548, it died out during the Reformation. A Latin school, later an apartment for Pastor widows was only placed in the buildings of the voluntarily abandoned monastery. After 1805 the buildings served as salt magazine. Parts of the installation (cloister, refectory and others) were demolished, much of the inventory destroyed or sold (like for example the so-called "Wiblinger altar" by Tilman Riemenschneider). The Franciscan Church is the oldest church of Rothenburg ob der Tauber and celebrated its 700 years consecration jubilee in 2009. The church is located in the "Herrngasse". Highlights: the Franciscan altar carved by Tilman Riemenschneider, the windows made by the artist Johannes Schreiter, a lot of tombstones and memorials of local partician families, the neighbouring landed gentry and the "Lettner" a wooden division between the monks' gallery and the seating area for laymen.