We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding quality”

Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: You have the hotel listed but not the restaurant - excellent restaurant
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Intimate restaurant inside the hotel of the same name. Breakfast eggs were cooked to order, good selection of both American and European foods. Dinner was outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DougF111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and quaint”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A unique and charming hotel with a wonderful restaurant and outdoor courtyard. Very good location close to all Rottenburg sites and attractions. We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the lovely courtyard one evening; breakfasts are included and are substantial, including eggs made to order. No air conditioning, which was a bit uncomfortable during last week's heatwave, but rooms are equipped with fans so it wasn't unbearable. The owner-manager was a bit stiff upon our arrival, but his staff proved to be very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay in this medieval city, and the Hotel Markustum added to the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere, nice local food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Although I stayed at this hotel, I looked around on a cold January evening for other places to eat before deciding the dining room offered the best choices for good quality (non-pizza take-out) local food in the environs. I was glad for the choice - as not only was the service friendly and attentive, but the food (and local beer) were tasty and unique (gourmet without extravagant prices). I especially liked the white-wine soup with croutons, which was warming and perfect for a cold night. As a vegetarian, there was really only one option (the meat dishes eaten by those around me looked very good though!) - I had the spinach with a tasty potato cake flled with cream-cheese.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brain_bleed_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived into town late and decided to just eat at the hotel. We were warmly accepted with our two dogs, which we have grown to love having with us everywhere we go in Germany. Our food was very well done. My Venison goulash was ewceptional! They also offered a homemade beer, which was one of the best I have had! I Would definitely recommend, although there are many other great choices in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Germany!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Roasted duck, dumplings and red cabbage - knocked the ball out of the park! The Apfelkuechle for dessert was the ultimate finisher.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DoppioHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantik Hotel Markusturm also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Romantik Hotel Markusturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing