We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service....... Rooms???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Merian Rothenburg
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service....... Rooms???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

The service there is really good, but the rooms really need to be updated. The breakfast that was included was nice, but internet was not included in the price. The location is about a 10 minute walk to the town square so that is a plus, and parking is really easy there too. Everything was good, but the rooms, the bathrooms and the beds all needed to be updated. My wife said it gave it character.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    24
    1
    5
See reviews for
20
18
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2007

Wonderful small hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant and helpful, gave us great suggestions for lunch or dinner. The room was plain, but comfortable. No air conditioning as others have mentioned, but in May it was comfortable. Pleasant dining area for breakfast -- they were very accomodating. Sitting on a small balcony off the dining area for drinks in the early evening was pleasant and relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel directly across the street, very good dinner in a courtyard (or you could be seated indoors).
Convenience Store for munchies or any necessities down one block.
Short walk (10 minutes) to the walled city.

  • Liked — Friendliness and accomodating
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyRia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane wa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

Stayed one night in Dec '06. Woman at the front desk who appeared to be owner or manager was very helpful and spoke great English. Room was large and had desk, couch and coffee table. Bed slats snapped the first time I sat on the bed. I weigh about 275 and not the first time this has happened. Repaired them myself and took it easy for the rest of the night with no problems. Those familiar with German beds with no box springs know what I'm talking about. Easy walk into center of city, about 10 minutes to main gate. Breakfast was good. I recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank agedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2005

My wife and I just returned from Germany where we visited the Christmas markets.

This hotel is very nice and just down the street from the Rothenburg train station. The walk to the center of the town is about 15 to 20 minutes. If you want something closer, you will need to pick one in the center of town and it will be more expensive, of course.

The breakfast buffet was very nice with basic eggs and sausages, along with bread, cheese, and cold cuts. There were also cereals and fruit, etc.

The room was better than I imagined considering this is a Best Western. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was a good size with a balcony: bigger than normal European rooms. The bathroom did not have a tub, but had a nice shower.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in Rothenburg and not break the bank.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feldtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2004

Tiny rooms which got really hot, as soon as the sun came out!
NO AIR CONDITION!!!!
No thanks.
Stay at the YOUTH HOSTEL which is much more comfortabel and nicer!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2003

We got a great rate on this hotel, and found our room to be small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, and the desk staff were happy to answer questions and make recommendations.

Short walking distance from the main gate into Rothenburg odT, and easy to find from the autobahn.

Best pillows the whole trip!

Helpful?
6 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#23 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#31 of 46 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merian Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merian Rothenburg

Property: Hotel Merian Rothenburg
Address: Ansbacher Str. 42, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merian Rothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome to our family-owned three-star hotel in the historic city Rothenburg ob der Tauber in Germany. It's perfectly situated in the beautiful Tauber valley, with its rich cultural heritage and natural wonders, and along Germany's most beloved scenic highway, the Romantic Road. We provide an ideal starting point for a rewarding and relaxing vacation experience. Our hotel consists of 40 modern, comfortable rooms. Start the day off right with our generous breakfast buffet and enjoy snacks and drinks until midnight at our hotel bar. We also offer half board and full board rates. Hotel Merian is centrally located and easily accessible from the A7 Autobahn. Our convenient parking lot accommodates both automobiles and travel buses. Please pay us a visit. We'll be most happy to welcome you in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merian Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing