We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been nicer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newburyport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been nicer”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews. It's true, Ulle greeted us with a glass of champagne even after we all figured out that our reservation was for the following day. We ended up staying two days. The hotel building, almost 1000 years old was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent at the hotel and at Zur Holl down the street. The room was beautiful and the staff thought of everything we could want. They will pick you up at the local train station if you let them know ahead of time. We didn't know it and we walked. It was a little tough with rolling suitcases on cobblestone. I can honestly say that the hospitality and service could not have been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    25
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
144
448
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place was the perfect combination of charm and truly outstanding hospitality. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and had all sorts of helpful suggestions on what to do and where to eat. The owner, Ulle (spelling?), welcomed us with open arms (even though we arrived a little early). She immediately served us coffee and sparkling wine while reviewing some of the highlights of the town. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. My partner and I stayed in one of the rooftop suites with a small sitting area. We had a priceless view from the bedroom of the charming town and the distant rolling hills.

Although we didn't eat at their restaurant, I'd highly recommend a nearby spot which the owners recommended and for which they arranged a reservation. The restaurant's name roughly translates to "Hell" and is reported to be the oldest operating restaurant in the city. Delicious fare and a good place to have a few beers or glasses of wine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and purposefully chose a higher priced hotel to relax. We were not disappointed. The rooms are beautiful and respectful to the history of the building. The furniture is in line with the building but very comfortable, with modern bathrooms. Unfortunately, the church across the road was under construction so we were woken by the building sounds early morning. The owner was very sympathetic and offered us a suite for the second night at a modestly higher price (which she waived since we were not able to use the sauna because no one was available that night). Service is excellent and very thoughtful. Breakfast was very good and I would especially advise everybody to get the Bavarian Breakfast (weisswurst with a weisner).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaartenNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with great staff who made us feel like family! Great romantic location. Owner and staff was attentive to the smallest details. Breakfast each morning was great from the sparking local wine to the fresh squeezed orange juice. Highly recommend this hotel and travel destination.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family stayed at Hotel Herrnschloesschen for 3 nights in late November into early December. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. It combines the charm of an old European hotel with just the right room modern accommodations. The staff is friendly and provides superb service. Breakfast is prepared for each guest when and how he likes it. The location is excellent. We felt like we were "home away from home". We would definitely stay again and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcmibm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a gem of a hotel! From the time we checked in, until departure, everything was 5 star. Ulli and her staff anticipated all our needs. Never had a free stocked bar before. Great room and amenities. Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a fun town to roam through and enjoyed all the delightful shops. Would stay here again and definitely recommend to friends and family. Thank you Ulli and staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbtmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great hotel. Here is why -

1) 1,000 years old, but fully renovated inside.

2) Great restaurant. A little expensive, but worth the price. Really high-end food and wonderfully prepared. Also, breakfast is excellent. Moderate selection, but they will customize and the preparation is flawless.

3) Best thing about hotel is the managers. They look to find your needs before you know them. Unbelievable service, period. They not only picked us up, but they even took us to the next train station because they didn't want us to have to carry too much luggage at our next connection. We didn't want to leave. They really did make us feel like it was our home, but without the cooking and cleaning. In fact, the only negative is my own fault. We spent four nights here and I should have booked more. you can see everything in Rothenburg in four nights, but it was just so nice we didn't want to leave.

If you go to Rothenburg, just book this place. Forget about looking elsewhere. Also, Rothenburg is wonderful. Also, make sure you do the night watchman tour in Rothenburg. you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room is great and definitely eat some of your meals at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEHMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing