We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint and modern”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel Herrnschlosschen was recently renovated. The upscale rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel staff are pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is located just outside of the town square. As a guest of the hotel, you are permitted to drive into the walled city. GPS is very helpful.

Room Tip: Must walk on top of the wall, go to top the top of the tower in town square, and do the night watchm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony03801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    28
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
150
467
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Rothenburg is a beautiful place. You should definitely go. Write wherever you would be much better. If you go to Rothenburg, you will surely have to stay at Hotel Herrnschloesschen. The hotel's location is very good. Staff were very friendly and interested. The dinners were wonderful, breakfast was awesome. Definitely take a full 10 points out of 10.

Room Tip: Suites are large and like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustafa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from several nights at the beautiful Herrnschloesschen. On reflection we were very pleased to have chosen an intimate little hotel with personalised service for our honeymoon, rather than a large 5-star property. There were lots of little indulgences included in our room rate - our car was parked for us, a turn down service in the evenings, rose petals on our table to surprise us when we came back from dinner, and on our last day we were spoiled with breakfast in bed. We even saw other guests having their GPS programmed by the lovely staff. Wi-fi and minibar with wine was inclusive. Breakfast was not a buffet but customised, our choice of eggs, a big basket of different breads and croissants, yoghurt, muesli, sausages if you wanted, homemade jams. We couldn't eat enough to please them! By the time we were finished at breakfast our room was immaculate for our return - so many little details, at this truly romantic hotel that deserves all its accolades. Meanwhile Rothenburg is a gorgeous village for couples to explore, you can walk the city walls, and the Nightwatcher tour for 7 Euros pp is a must do. One or two days here is plenty, otherwise plan to visit towns nearby to extend your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluoceanlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was on a family trip with two families and was expecting something along the lines of a Parisian hotel. I was delightfully surprised to find it had the cozy feel of a Parisian hotel but was far more spacious. The service was very personal and very friendly and the location was excellent across from an old church and in close proximity of the town square.

Room Tip: The Suite on the top floor is definitely the most desirable room. The backyard where you have bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

From beginning to end it was a WONDERFUL experience. The staff is amazing, the food was great, and the hotel was super comfortable and nice. This hotel is also located in an ideal location right near the center. I love and 100% recommend this hotel. We will be coming back. You will be treated 1st class the entire time. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Every room is unique so I don't think you can go wrong with any room you choose. We stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Hotel Herrnschloesschen was one the highlights of our 3 week trip to 5 countries in Europe. The accomodations were very nice -- we stayed in the Bird Suite. The service and attention was absolutely perfect. And lastly, the included breakfast was quite deluxe. Thank you for a wonderful time at your hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Hotel Herrnschloesschen after a week of non-stop travel throughout Germany. We could not have had a better ending to our trip than our experience with this hotel. We were immediately greeted by the friendly staff who immediately served us welcome drinks, re-parked our car for us in the hotel's designated parking area, and answered all of our Rothenburg-related questions. The owner speaks excellent English and was extremely helpful by showing us important details on a map of the surrounding area. We were then led up to our suite on the 3rd floor, Room 8. The room is so charming and cute with a stunning view. The bed is tucked away on its own floor and overlooks the garden area. It is a perfect room for couples. The super-clean room is stocked with a mini-bar, and the bathroom is complete with a wide variety of luxury toiletries (I figure this is worth mentioning, because only 2 of the 4 hotels we booked in Germany had complimentary shampoo. Not that we needed it, but it is kind of an expected thing in the States, especially when paying what we did for the rooms.)
We also ate dinner at the hotel which was quite delicious. I would suggest trying the tasting menu with paired regional wine. If a bottle is more your thing, you will not be disappointed with the selection. They carry some of the finer brands of pinot noirs Germany has to offer.....as well as the whites you would expect from the area.
Hotel Herrnschloesschen is a fantastic place to unwind after a long week of sightseeing and driving through Germany. What makes it the BEST place to stay is the EXCEPTIONAL customer service. When it was time to leave and drive to Munich for our flight home, our temperamental GPS decided to not give us directions to the airport. The owner came outside in the pouring rain, sat in the car, and tried every possible way to get the device to recognize the airport location. After fifteen minutes, she was successful. I will be recommending this hotel to anyone traveling to Germany.

Room Tip: Suite 8 is a beautiful, romantic room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing