We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the reviews were correct - this hotel is amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All the reviews were correct - this hotel is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came across this hotel while looking for a central place to stay in Rothenburg, and ended up adding a 2nd night in the town due to all the positive reviews of the hotel - so glad we did!

Just like other reviewers, upon arrival we were shown out to the back patio to wait with a drink (sparkling wine for us, juice for my daughter) while we awaited the porter to take our bags to the room. The room was ready, and within maybe 15 minutes we were up there getting settled. The inclusion of the in room bar was so nice - cold white wine and beer, red wine, water, juice, and peanuts were included (and restocked). Our daughter was 19 months old on the trip, and had been tough in the many restaurants we had been to - we asked if we could have the secluded stone table at the back of the patio for dinner that evening, and it became one of the best decisions we made! Our daughter was able to enjoy the surroundings while we had a fabulous meal. While we were down for dinner, they turned down our room and left chocolates for us to enjoy. Unfortunately, the 2nd evening they were running late on the turn down service and it wasn't done by the time we got back and put our daughter down to sleep. (I really wanted those chocolates! ha!).

The bed was very comfortable, and the street noise wasn't bad at all. Location of the hotel was perfect - we loved how close it was to the gardens as well as the center of the town. 2 nights was a great length of time!

Breakfast was very good - my husband loved it, I didn't know what to order (it is served, not buffet) as I don't like eggs or sausage and didn't hear anything that was available aside from breads and fruit. But I certainly didn't go hungry. Also, I will say that they did not offer a high chair for my daughter so I don't think they had them - I never got the feeling she was not welcome there, though, so don't let that deter you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
142
443
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved every moment of our stay at Hotel Herrnschloesschen. The hotel interior is beautiful and doesn't feel like you're staying in a 1,000 year old home. All the updates are thoughtful and respectful to the original homestead. We traveled across Germany for two weeks, but one of the highlights for me from the entire trip was eating breakfast in the garden of the hotel. It was divine. The staff go above and beyond from the moment you enter the door. They continue to leave goodies in your room throughout the evening that made returning that much more fun. We checked out early, but they parked our car directly in front of the hotel for the day so when it was time to go it was quick and easy. I look forward to our return one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

How often did you get greeted at the front door by the hotel owner, or get invited to a welcome drink while checking in after a long drive. It really felt like coming home. The lower part of the hotel was built over 1000 years ago, yes 1,000. it has 8 suites, each with its unique modern design. Very clean. Everybody working in the hotel is so friendly. It has a back garden that is connected to another street where you can have all three meals served there. We had dinner on the first night. Food and wine were excellent. Also, a la cart breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is on one of the main streets in the city. We enjoyed it a lot, and definitely will make sure to stay longer on my next trip.

Room Tip: If Rothenberg is your destination, don't think twice. Book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LONGYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

So I don't really know what can be added to all of the other reviews. What are the superlatives?

*Arrival with a warm welcome, a seat and complimentary drink to relax and unwind in the beautiful garden
*Helpful advice with tours, restaurants, shops, directions, reservations at restaurants
*Lovely, spacious, and clean bedroom (our family of 3 had plenty of space in the Woodland room)and bathroom, quality towels and toiletries, good hairdryer, loan of adapter for chargers, free Wifi, complimentary beverages in mini fridge
*Great location
*Delicious breakfast with cooked to order eggs, sausages, breads, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurts, cereals, fabulous coffee
*Apples and cold bottled water offered for sustenance during the day
*Fabulous dinner menu (we dined on eggplant, tuna, steak, and quail)-you must eat dinner here and at their other restaurant "Zur Holle"

Absolutely the most pleasant and helpful owners and staff we encountered during the entire vacation and possibly even one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Frankly I don't know what I can add to the other reviews. My husband selected this hotel because he read that it was one of the most romantic hotels in the world. And it is. The hotel is lovely and full of character. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The garden is gorgeous and very relaxing. The breakfast is more than anyone could ever ask for and as for dinner there . . . it cannot be beat! It was delicious and beautifully presented. The hospitality at this hotel is the best my husband and I have ever received and it is subtle and unexpected. It seems like they all anticipated any whim we might have had and fulfilled it. We loved the free minibar and the chocolates in the room. We had been traveling for three weeks when we arrived there and we asked where we could drop off some clothes to be washed -- and they washed them there for us. AND they ironed my husband's shirts!!! I don't even iron his shirts! We travelled in Europe for over a month and this was, hands down, the best hotel of the trip. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Golden Apple and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffalo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived late, as the town began to settle down for the evening. As we pulled up to the front of the hotel, we were warmly greeted and ushered into to reception area. We were urged to have a seat, given a glass of sparkling Franconian wine, and given information on the hotel and its services, and a brief overview of the town while our bags were brought upstairs. We were escorted up to our room and shown inside. Room 2, "the Butterfly Room" was large, charming and so clean! The flower filled window boxes looked out onto the cobblestone street. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom spacious and filled with amenities.
Breakfast the next morning was served in the beautiful garden. We enjoyed scrambled eggs which were made to order, breads, croissant, fresh fruit and yogurt. The coffee was plentiful and the juice freshly squeezed. All served with a smile by our waiter, who could not have been more pleasant.
I discovered that our camera battery was depleted, and the lady at reception found a converter for us that worked (ours did not), and we charged the battery while we ate.
Nothing that we asked for was a problem, the staff went out of their way to accommodate us with our every request. The beautiful building was very clean, everyone we dealt with was friendly and welcoming. The only problem was we were only there for one night. We will return the next time we visit Germany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robin_d822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a night during our Germany vacation and were extremely satisfied with the stay. The location was great (just a few steps from the old Marktplatz), and the breakfast in the Baroque Garden exceeded all expectations, as we ordered nearly everything from the a-la-carte menu. The room was clean and service was impeccable.

Room Tip: All items in the minibar were included in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KME73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing