We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with such a friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with such a friendly welcome”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is an incredibly quaint - twee even - town in the Franconia region.  I think that Hotel Herrnschlosser could easily be the best hotel there.  On arrival, we handed over our car keys and someone unloaded our bags, took them to our room and parked our car while we sat in the charming garden enjoying a welcome drink - champagne for me  and a Franziskaner for Mr Monk-san.  Katharina greeted us warmly, gave us wi-fi codes and checked when we might like to have dinner, which we booked for that evening.  She also asked if we knew the sights of R-o-d-T and showed us a few suggestions on the map.  
Dinner in the hotel was absolutely delicious and as it was so warm, we sat in the garden and ate by candlelight.  The only downside to this was the endless flow of little bugs which crawled onto the table, but it was such a romantic setting. Well, until a family brought their noisy children in at 9pm, but let's not go there!  
The hotel decor is a fabulous blend of old and new - sympathetic to the age and style of the building (and the whole town) but fresh and modern and really pretty.  However, it was very warm in our room and one little fan could not do the work of air conditioning.   I don't know whether the preservation of the building means that air con units can't be added but it would have added a lot for us.  We shut the windows when we went to bed because it was noisy in the street and probably should have opened them again later.  There was a good size safe, power sockets by the bed and the sink and a fridge.  The bathroom was bright and attractive, with a powerful shower over the bath, nice glass door and shelf space under the sink where I found an excellent hairdryer. 
Breakfast was in the cool of the garden and I enjoyed a glass of champagne with my eggs and Nurnburger sausages.  There were plenty of other things on offer and the staff did seem genuinely disappointed that we weren't having more!  Check out time was 12.00, so we took the chance to explore the city walls in the morning and came back to find our car parked outside ready for our bags to be loaded.  After we paid the bill we were offered chilled bottles of water to take on the journey, which we very much appreciated.  We were really made to feel welcome here, right down to the final farewell on the doorstep. What a wonderful hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    28
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
149
460
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It may not be a typical luxury hotel but the hospitality of the hotel people makes it such a pleasant stay. The garden is lovely and food is not bad. The only drawback is the weak wifi signal. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to summarize this amazing hotel and the unforgettable experience we had here. Starting from the personal touches on the reservation - where the manager/owner writes you personally - to the beautiful building (nearly 1000 years old), the quaint but modern rooms, the outstanding service (you arrive and your car and luggage are smoothly taken care of while you enjoy a welcome drink in the charming garden), the excellent breakfast and dinner .... Our stay here and the staff made our visit to Rothenburg a fairy tale-like experience. I cannot recommend this highly enough and hope to have an opportunity to return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitolTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Az
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at this wonderful hotel at the end of June 2013 and had an incredible time there. The owners and staff were 5 star, top notch! We can not wait to return. I highly recommend you staying here. You will not be disappointed. Everything positive that you're reading on recent reviews is completely accurate. We were taken care of like family. We're in the hospitality industry and appreciate what is required to make guests feel so at home. Thank you Hotel Herrnschloesschen for making our stay a highlight of our trip. Warm Thanks from sunny and VERY HOT Arizona. Miss your weather for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOSPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the first warm greeting to the welcomed blast of air conditioning, you know you've arrived at someplace very special. Enjoy breakfast and/ or dinner in the lush green garden of this restored, 1,000 year old hotel which is centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband truly enjoyed our stay in this quaint, lovely hotel right in the heart of Rothenburg Ob de Tauber. Everyone was so welcoming from the moment we arrived, whisking the luggage upstairs, bringing us a welcome drink and highlighting the "must sees" on a map. We had a beautiful room overlooking the peaceful hidden garden where they served meals throughout the day. It was a wonderful experience to see this well preserved medieval town made even more special by the hotel and their friendly, courteous staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GRTadewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights there: very clean and helpful staff and owners. We stopped our car right in the front of the hotel and the hotel took care of our luggage and parked the car away for us. The location is very convenient to all the major places in town. And the back garden they have! You definitely should have your (complimentary) breakfast there if weather permits. BTW, apparently (from the night Watchman tour), this hotel is right next to the biggest house (still lived by the noble family descendents) in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVETRAVEL2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
583 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing