We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Near perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed overnight here recently and it was as near as perfect as it could be.

After the sat-nav guided us through the maze of narrow streets (essential tool) we arrived and our luggage and car were whisked away while we were shown through to the rear garden and offered refreshments. Our mid morning arrival meant our room was not ready but it was so delightful in the garden, with wines and juices, we did not care at all ! The gracious owner came out to talk to us and tell us about the hotel and said the room would be ready as soon as possible. Meanwhile, we were given a town map and had a wonder.

When we returned we were shown to the second floor Golden Apple suite. It was delightful, straight out of either an architectural or interior design magazine. The owner apologised for there being no lift or a/c as we were in a 14th century building ! We had a fan in the room (fairly warm weather) but did not need it. Actually, we put in away as it was a cheap white plastic fan which spoiled the immaculate appearence of the suite ! We were told that the well stocked minibar was complimentary and if there was anything we wanted we just had to ask.

The bed was huge and very comfortable. The linens were top quality (and decent pillows!) as were the towels and toiletries provided. The bathroom was similarly beautifully designed and very spacious with a window and natural ventilation. If we were being picky we would say that the shower cubicle could have been larger - there was space available.

We had dinner in the hotel and it was excellent. The service was exceptional as was the food from a short but well considered menu. It was quiet too, not many other diners, so a relaxing experience. We had breakfast the next morning before leaving. Again the service was immaculate, although the breakfast was a tad disappointing after experiencing everything else.

When we were ready to leave our car magically reappeared and our luggage loaded. We were given chilled bottle water for our onward journey and an excellent road map which gave us some good information for the remainder of our trip.

It really would have been nice to stay just one more night...!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
142
443
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed last week Sept 7-9, 2012 for two nights during the towns Founder Fall Festival weekend on our European holiday through Germany and England. The staff greets you with a flute glass of champagne and shows you to a well designed and soothing German topiary landscaped courtyard with water fountains, while they take your luggage to your suite or room and park your rental car in a secure parking lot for the length of your stay with them. This is beyond first class treatment most of us expect and desire, but rarely see any longer even at the five star hotels both in the U S A and in Europe.

After having the second flute of a fairly good grade of champagne ( this from light drinkers normally) but the staff and their care of you as a guest, just puts you in such a happy care free state. The owner personally walks you up to your suite and show you info regarding the suite. They even ask if they can send up a lite snack or anything you desire. WOW who does that ?Our car has been emptied and parked, the seven bags are neatly put into the corner of the bedroom ready to unpack.

We stayed in the bird suite which is a two level one king bedroom second floor spacious suite. Our bedroom had several large windows (no air condioning in hotel) we opened and viewed the European courtyard we had just come from. Suggest you visit in mid Sept through April since we Americans are so use to air conditioning. We did get a nice breeze, but warmer than what we are us to. This suite is located at the back of the hotel so the noise on the busy street is not heard. The stay was fabulous and evenbrought our rental car back and carried our luggage asking if they wanted us to pack the car. This deserves another WOW they do know how to treat their guests. Breakfast is included in room or suite price either served at beautiful courtyard our main dinningroom. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Price is very in line for what you receive in services. So feel like a king or queen.

Room Tip: Select room at back of hotel. On a busy street. Suggest trongly to opt for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

What an absolute perfect experience. We were greeted by Ulrike and whisked to the beautiful garden for check in and a glass of German champagne. Our room was very large and luxurious with a wonderfully comfy bed and great view of people watching on the street below. Everything about this place is top notch, the rooms, the restaurant, the food and their best asset...THE STAFF! You are pampered to the nth degree. They even make note of what you order for breakfast each morning and ask if that is what you would like. The first night the restaurant was closed so we went to a small biergarten and had a great meal. When I asked for a bottle of water to go, they called ahead to the hotel and had it waiting in our room when we returned. The location is ideal for exploring Rothenburg when you can tear yourself away from this little bit of German heaven. This is a hotel in the "absolutely not to miss" category! Kudos to Ulrike and her fabulous staff.

Room Tip: Pick the garden side if you want quiet or pick the street side if you can deal with some street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanalee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked this hotel based on reviews and were in no way disappointed. The motel is small but gorgeous and meticulously clean. We had Amaryllis on the first floor. The staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner was amazing, but be warned that the serving portions were huge! Whatever you do don't miss the night watchmen tour, a history lesson delivered in an entertaining way, you will laugh yourself silly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strudelgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

the service was great. We were offered cold drink and a cup of tea at check in and were informed that mini bar was included in our rate - for all those years of travelling, this is the first time that we were not charged for mini bar. At check out, they asked if we need bottled water and gave us 2 for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this charming bed and breakfast. The decor in both the common areas and our room were lovely -- we stayed in the Amaryllis. On the other hand, the bathroom was not anything special -- I guess if we wanted a more spectacular bathroom, we should've splurged for the suite. All of the staff seemed genuinely eager to assist us with anything that we needed. The breakfast was very good, and we were so glad that we had dinner there -- it was superb! I was a little nervous that the room didn't have air conditioning, but it wasn't necessary while we were there (in early August, where the days were pleasant and the nights were still cool, but I wouldn't want to be there during a heat wave).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m3linda_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

No doubt, this small hotel was the highlight of accommodation during our three week European stay.

We booked a room for one night only (we were allocated the Tulip Room), and immediately extended it by another night within being here for two hours.

The hotel is located in the heart of medieval Rothenburg ob der Tauber (we were worried that the SatNav did not know where it was taking us when it made us drive through the town square with hordes of tourists) and does the setting absolute justice.

The staff were all exceedingly friendly, professional and helpful. Luggage made it to our room while we were having welcome drinks and a chat with the duty manager (she recommended the "Night Watchman's Tour", and this was most certainly a very educational and entertaining excursion. The car was also taken car of without any fuss or concern.

Breakfast in the garden was an absolute delight.

There were so many highlights of our visit to RodT but I do not believe that any of it would have been half as good had we not known that we were returning to this superb hotel every evening.

Room Tip: Look at the room plans on their website and select one which would best suit your needs. There real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribbie_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing