We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect combination of history and modern luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A perfect combination of history and modern luxury”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We began our two week holiday in Germany in Rothenburg ob der Tauber at the Hotel Herrnschlosschen and thank goodness! Our four nights at this hotel was a simply perfect introduction to the many charms of Germany, and its people.

The owner and staff went beyond ordinary service to make us feel comfortable and welcome, with genuine warmth and consideration from beginning to end. And the architecture of the building (built in the 11th and 12th centuries), integrated with modern conveniences, is beautiful as well as functional. For a relatively small property, every attention to detail has been made.

We stayed in the Woodland room and found it more than met all our needs with a modern bathroom, "heavenly" bed, and of course it was spotless throughout. A sitting area, desk and window overlooking the church made it cosy for relaxing in as well. We opened the windows for air, and found the street very quiet for sleeping. We didn't have a chance to use the spa, but did enjoy a beautiful light lunch in the garden one day after exploring the town.

Breakfast was a glorious start to every day with eggs of our choice, jams, pastries and rolls, as well as fruit salad and/or cereal. And having it all served at the table was a much appreciated touch. Our dinners at the hotel restaurant were exceptional, and even if you were not a hotel guest, we could certainly recommend an evening of dining here. When not open for dinner, the hotel will book Zur Holl for you, and we enjoyed our "bistro" meal there, just around the corner, as well.

The town itself and the area offer much to enjoy and explore, and from here we even visited the Mercedes Museum in Stuttgart.

But the highlight of every day was returning to our quiet, elegant space at the Hotel Herrnschlosschen. A most memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    25
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
144
448
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The town was quite crowded due to a weekend festival, but that added to the charm. Enjoyed every bit of the visit. Lobby ordinary, but service exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taosgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were staying in another hotel but we happened upon this charming restaurant by chance while exploring the area near the old cloisters (Reichstadtmuseum). You can access the terrace of this restaurant from Klostergasse and the beautiful garden was what first attracted us to this place.
There were just a few tables occupied on the terrace when we arrived for lunch, so we picked an empty one and sat down. When the waitress came over, she was friendly and pleasant. There is a high-quality feel to this restaurant and although the food is not cheap, it is good value for money as the quality matches the price. We ordered the Bratwurst mit Kartoffelbrei and the Kalbsfleischpflanzerl mit Kartoffelsalat, two traditional dishes. Both were tasty and an adequate portion for lunch.
We walked through the main indoor section of the restaurant on our way out and it looked nice as well. Can't say what this restaurant is like in the evening, but it is the perfect place to escape from the main tourist drag of Rothenburg and sit in the quiet garden with a nice glass of wine and a bite to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorcha_niri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Herrnschlösschen is one of the most welcoming, comfortable and pleasant hotels I have stayed in. Old-fashioned service (carry your bags, park your car, a welcome drink etc) combined with large rooms and modern facilities are a real winner. The hotel also has a shady garden where you can breakfast or dine if you choose. All in all, a real pleasure to stay in. Not cheap but good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel costs a bit more than other hotels but it is amazing. The service is amazing, the hotel is modern with some very lovely heritage features to remind you that you are staying in a very old building. We had breakfast in the back garden which was lovely. We also had dinner there one night when it started to rain and a few of us wanted to stay outside, then it hailed, but the waitresses still kept coming out to serve us! It was just a summer storm that soon passed, but the staff are glad to accommodate what you want. We also were handed water bottles for the "road" when we left for the day to explore the area which was also a nice touch. We stayed in Room 2 which has been well renovated and although small feels lovely. We did feel the heat a bit at night though but the thick walls of the hotel do help in cooling it down.

Last year I stayed at another hotel in this area and although it was cheaper, I was very disappointed in my stay there - I did not want to return to the hotel room or linger there at all. Herrnschlosschen was the total opposite experience and I will be back as soon as I can get back there - it made this trip completely wonderful, relaxing and you come away feel pampered. Loved the king bed in this room also!

If only all hotels were at this standard!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bythebaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stunning small hotel. Service was unbelievably good but discreet. Beautifully renovated property in the centre. The manager was fabulous and should be very pleased with the quality of hotel being run. Limited facilities but this is not was you go to rothenburg odt for. Small things like free wifi, free use of sauna, free minibar (Inc wine and beer), fantastic breakfast etc etc make a difference and this hotel offered it all. Very clean, very organised, tasteful contemporary design, good food. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

If you are looking for a wonderful experience, stay here. From the super friendly staff that invites you for a welcome glass of wine in their beautiful garden to the down comforters on the beds, this is the place!
The rooms were very large, beautiful bathrooms with great bath products. The complimentary mini bar had local German beer, wine, and juices too. The breakfast was very abundant. Beautiful fresh breads, cheeses, meats, and eggs cooked to order. This was all served at your table, a welcome change from the many buffets in European hotels.
Take time to "walk the wall" around the city. Go on the night watch tour, he is very funny and informative. Save time to enjoy the sauna in the basement of this beautiful 900 year old building! The location is perfect, and the staff is some of the friendliest we encountered on our 3 week trip!
It is a bit more expensive, but if you want the best, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing