We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel offered the best, friendliest, most earnest service I've ever experienced, including stays at places like the Four Seasons and the Ritz-Carlton. When we drove up to the hotel on the narrow, cobblestone streets of the uber-romantic Rothenburg, a sweet, smiling hostess immediately ushered us inside to relax in the lounge with complimentary drinks while they valet-parked our car and ushered our luggage to our room. That type of service persisted throughout our stay. On top of that, the hotel was centrally located and beautiful, our room was great, and breakfast was fantastic (in a nice garden area). My wife and I were definitely not expecting that level of excellence given the price and boutique nature of the hotel. A fantastic find.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_mago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    24
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
143
445
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just spent two nights at Herrnscholsschen with my family of three. The hotel is located in
a historical building but everything is modernized. We stayed at the Bird junior suite which has a separate sitting area a few steps below. It was on the top floor but there is no problem with water pressure from the showers, no doubt a result of German engineering.
Location of hotel is excellent, around the corner from the main market square but nice and quiet at night. Our windows open onto the back garden of the hotel which has a small fountain and falling asleep to the sound of it was just wonderful. The best thing about the hotel, together with its sister property, the Zur Holl restaurant, it is service. This is our first trip to Germany and it gave us the general feeling that the German people is very organized, polite but not particularly warm. At the Herrnscholsschen and Zur Holl, it was different. I would compare it to the warm hospitality you expect of a top resort in Thailand or Bali. Everyone was sincere and caring, taking time to explain the smallest question we have. Only once, at the top rated (by Tripadvisor) Jays Paris have we experienced such excellent service at an European hotel. At quite a few other restaurants when we asked for English menu all we got was a terse "NO". The food was excellent although I would advise against ordering steak if you have been spoiled by prime US/Australian/Japanese beef.

The hotel is not air-conditioned so on a very hot day it may be tough to city folks who are used it. However, I can understand air-conditioning would ruin the exterior of such historical building. We look forward to returning around Christmas time when the whole town of Rothenburg will be turned into a winter wonderland !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCKCJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Everything is true. This s a beautiful, special hotel, with special owners. I will keep this brief: discover it for yourself, you will not regret it - perfect in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I don't always believe what I read on trip advisor so I always book a hotel with trepidation, especially an 'unknown'. The reviews for this one were so good that I took the chance and booked one night for me and my husband as part of our Germany trip. Now I wished I hadn't... I should have booked two nights - or three or four!
The hotel is beautiful - tiny but magnificent. The owners treated us as if we were royalty and spent time talking to us about the hotel and its history. They greeted us like old friends and 24 hours later when we left, I felt that we really were.
If, like me, you are a complete hotel snob then I would defy you to find anything wrong here. The owners have thought of everything from the welcoming glass of champagne and check in in the pretty garden, whilst your cases are being whisked to your room, to the glass of German champagne at the sumptuous (yes, really sumptuous) breakfast the next morning and the warm hug we received as we left. I swear I felt like I would really miss this hotel, and 24 hours later, in another hotel - I really do!
We are so pleased that we chose this little dream of a place - and you will be too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

I took on a 2 week trip to europe with my husband in late march / early april. I have to say that our stay in herrnschlosschen in germany was the best part of the trip. Not only were the rooms lovely, just like the pictures provided on their website. The service provided by the staff was superb. We stay in 5 stay hotels in every part of our trip, and I can honestly say that the service from other hotels were no where close.

We arrived about 3pm and checked in for 1 night. Our room had a lovely view facing the church. Then we decided to take walk outside and went back to the hotel for dinner in the garden. I found the price quite reasonable as everything in europe seemed quite expensive. As my husband and I were sharing some portions of our meal, they very thoughtfully served it into 2 portions. We were also served a complimentary dish that the chef had newly created. When we decided it was getting a chilly, we went back to our room for dessert, which the staff brought up for us. When we arrived back in our room, we saw some complimentary chocolates and dessert provided as a welcome gift, whilst we were walking about Rothenburg in the afternoon. Also all the drinks in the minibar/fridge are included in the room charge.
If I ever go to germany again, I definitely go back to rothenburg and stay in this hotel again. Only this time I'll stay in a suite and for a longer stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely! Esp the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsuneky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

This tiny hotel in the heart of Rothenburg ob der Tauber is fantastic. From the welcome drink to our car being whisked away and parked for us, to the gorgeous suite we stayed in. Room 7 has two levels and is situated at the top of the building. The building is one of the oldest houses in town, but inside it is lovely and modern, with the character of the old oak beams left intact. A fabulous restoration. Out the back is a beautiful cottage garden, where you can eat or have a drink. The food and service at this little boutique hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misssiu@aol.com
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

I can't say enough about the hotel and staff, five diamond all the way. They truly went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable. Location can't be beat, but the rooms were large and comfortable with every amenity needed. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I really wish we could have stayed here more than one night, it was really that great. The porter even assisted us with fueling our car upon departure, wow you don't find that kind of service any more. We stayed in the butterfly room and it was just charming. Highly recommend this property to anyone traveling to the area, can not be beat!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herrnschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herrnschloesschen

Property: Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Address: Herrngasse 20, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Herrnschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, see and enjoy the new herrnschlösschen, a charming trilogy of hotel, restaurant and garden. During your stay in one of Rothenburgs´ oldest houses, you will definitely sense the outstanding level of hospitality. The unique combination of history and modern spirit is most fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Herrnschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing