We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing & affordable food”

Restaurant Alter Keller
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing & affordable food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a lifesaver my first night in Rothenburg. It was a Sunday on top of being 5pm so it was hard finding a restaurant that was open. The first restaurant I wanted to visit wouldn't open until 6pm so we wandered in here after seeing lights on in the middle of a dark street. The service was great and the food was equally amazing! Our waitress was very helpful in recommending some dishes. The portions are huge and the prices very affordable. We got the bratwurst with sauerkraut and boiled potatoes as well as the Madagascar pork chop with mushroom sauce, spätzle and a side salad. We had two beers as well and it only came out to €25. It was our cheapest sit-down meal in Germany!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    138
    53
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Best in Rothenburg ODT”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We ate here twice, once for lunch, once for dinner. It was less than one minute walk from our hotel, the Romantik Hotel Markusturm. Great back street location, cobblestones and the old fountain out the front make for a great outdoor dining experience if the weather is good, lots of indoor tables as well. Loved the sausages, chicken, beer and wine. What we liked most is that the staff will make up dishes to order, for example if you want cabbage with your chicken instead potato, or dumplings with your sausages instead of sauerkraut, no problem. A pleasant place to unwind away from the crowds in the main town square.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had a late lunch here, found it while coming back from a walk outside town to the river. The location is nice, just one block off a main shopping streets (Hafengasse) but much quieter, and still just a short walk from the Marktplatz. We tried the daily special, sauerbraten and the Oktoberfest brew from a Munich brewery (Paulaner). Both were good but not outstanding. Prices were reasonable so overall a pleasant lunch with good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant off the main streets”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were only in Rothenburg for one night, and opted to try this restaurant for our dinner given its #5 ranking here and proximity to our hotel. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere is very casual and comfortable and the food was very nice. It was a very pleasant place to sit and enjoy the meal. We actually both opted for the schnitzel, and were both happy with the quality of the food.

The service was also good and willing to work with us for substitutions from the standard menu. While we each wanted the schnitzel, neither of us wanted what it was listed with on the menu. I asked for fries and my fiancee' asked for a salad - both requests were greeted with a prompt acceptance and indication that the switch was no problem.

We enjoyed our meal here and would certainly recommend it to you if you are staying in or passing through Rothenburg.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best schnitzel the whole trip”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Make sure you find this little gem off the main streets. It was the best schnitzel and spaetzel the entire 2 week trip. They had a great wine selection (get a Franconian) and several schnapps for after dinner. Very reasonable prices - sit outside if weather permits.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chianti_girl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alter Keller also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Restaurant Alter Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing