We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Gasthof Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gasthof Post
Ranked #31 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed here several times and will always come back! It's location is perfect, right outside of the city walls and about a block from the train station. The price is excellent.

This is an amazing bed and breakfast, in the room is a personal bath and sink (a rarity for a European B&B) and the breakfast is better than anything I eat on a normal day. The service is beyond compare, the owners are onsite and are as sweet as can be.

I love it so much I actually had part of my wedding reception here! All of my guests stayed here and had nothing but wonderful things to say about Gasthof Post.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizLemoncello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you don't like the coldness and uniformity of the big chain hotels this is a place for you: characterful and quirky, with the friendly owners and it is very close to the town centre.

The hotel is definitely not brand new, but we find there is something special in its aging ambiance and modest charm: we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexsas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

At 10 minutes from city center, very clean and the staff is very friendly. The parking is free and the rooms are pleasant. I recomend to everyone to try this one at a very good value for money. The rooms have cable tv but the wi-fi is not free. If you search a good value for money this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in a single room for three nights on a visit to Rothenburg. The hotel is ideally located if you are travelling by train as I was. It was a very short walk from the train station, though I never heard a train during my stay there. It is also ideally located not far from the town walls. The room was basic but clean and extremely good value for money. I loved the dinner I had in the restaurant too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in a triple room for one night while in Rothenburg. The room was very clean and the beds were soft. Unfortunately for us, since it is the low-season - the restaurant was closed, although breakfast was available the next morning. Very old hotel, lots of stairs and squeaky flooors. WC was extremely small and had a toilet and shower in it. We were only there overnight - so it worked just fine for us. Excellent location - about a 2 minute walk to the walled part of the old-city.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank sherlockwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great price, great food, great location. I have stayed here several times and would certainly stay here again. The host is a wonderful cook. The best meal I had in Germany was here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck52310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I arrived in Rothenburg about 8 pm with no reservations. I was tired and just stopped at the first hotel where I found a spot to pull in with my car. As a solo traveller, I asked for a single room. Before they did the paperwork, they brought me up to see the room to make sure I would be ok with it. The room was very small and basic, but neat and clean and the price was very reasonable for what it was. So, I happily checked in and then took advantage of the onsite restaurant. I really enjoyed the wonderful pork schnitzel and salad I had for my late dinner.

The hotel is located a very short walk from the city walls. I really enjoyed an early pre-breakfast walk around the town before it was overrun with tourist. It was also convenient as they let me keep my car there that next day while I walked around the town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJDC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#25 of 45 in Rothenburg
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#1 of 11 in Rothenburg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Post

Address: Ansbacher Str. 27, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $63 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof Post 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gasthof Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing