We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted with our stay, happily recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Fuchsmuehle
Ranked #2 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Delighted with our stay, happily recommend.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Thankfully, our SAT NAV was able to find the place. Otherwise it would have been a major challenge in the dark. Fortunately also, there is a short cut from the B&B to the old town which takes 8-10 minutes walk. Otherwise, it would be a bit of a trek.
Accommodation was highly satisfactory. Beds good quality, hot / strong shower, quiet at night, very satisfactory breakfast. Overall, we thought it was great value for money and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killanigia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    32
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 young kids after a long flight. Quad room was perfect - very large with a separate sitting area perfect for playing in. Breakfast the 2nd day was delicious. Location is perfect- just outside the city, but a short drive away. Didn't try the walk (too much for little legs!) but looked lovely. Can't wait for the opportunity to come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This past summer we toured southern Germany and had the pleasure of staying with Alex and family in their mill/inn. Our entire family stayed in the top floor flat, and were soothed to sleep at night by the sound of the running waterwheel. The breakfast was a nicely rounded selection of breads, meats, cereals, fruits, and juices. During our stay the weather was unseasonable warm (above 34 degrees most days) making Rothenburg within the walls rather warm. With the Pension Fuchesmulle being located in the valley below town, the temperature seemed to be nearly 5 degrees cooler during the day, and quite tolerable for sleeping at night. We would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerrMeurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The reviews for this location are spot on! As long as you are okay doing the walk into town (a bit steep/dark at night), this is an amazing place to stay. The rooms and service are outstanding and the breakfast was by far the best during our 3 week Europe trip.

This location is ideal for those biking along the Romantic Road. Also an excellent choice for those that like a bit more of nature (forest, river, and outdoor beer garden are all within walking distance). It gives good access to the town of Rothenburg as well as the roads/trails along the river outside of the town. We spent some of our time going into town and we spend another day renting bicycles and riding along the road right from the pension.

The pension also has a somewhat sizable library so we were able to find some additional travel books for the area and our future destinations. We helped ourselves to the complimentary coffee and spent some time "researching" what to do, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Pension Fuchsmuehle for one night. We were 4 adults and shared a quad room. The room was huge, with vaulted ceiling and windows that open, and hardwood floors. We had one double bed and two single beds, a table with 4 chairs, and a separate small living room with couch and TV. The breakfast was excellent and healthy. The reason we chose the Pension is to be able to walk up the trail to the fortified medieval town of Rothenburg and to come back at night with our head lamps. It was a lot of fun and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loloP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Driving around the old city walls down to the lower valley was the first delight of our stay at Pension Fuchsmuehle. From the stone- walled entrance, flowing river nearby, to the quaint water wheel seen from the window of the breakfast room, this is a place to step back in time and savour the ambience of the old world. The room was large and comfortable for the price. We walked at night up the paved path to enjoy the quiet streets of Rothenburg. It was steep but not too difficult.
The room was clean, the bathroom was fine, the bed was not the best we had but certainly adequate for the price. The location was stunning. We made the most of our day in the old city but I would have liked a 2nd day to hike in the Tauber valley around this little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a beautiful medieval town, that you should not miss. The Pension is just at the foot of the hill, nice walking though the forest to the town. Room are very clean, huge and quiet. The buffet breakfast is ample and tasty. The owners are really nice and friendly. I stayed there with my son and would highly recommend to families or anybody wanting to stay a few days in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#16 of 45 in Rothenburg
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Fuchsmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Fuchsmuehle

Property: Pension Fuchsmuehle
Address: Taubertalweg 103 | Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Fuchsmuehle 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuchsmuehle in the Medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber offers country-style rooms with free Wi-Fi internet. The historic Old Town is just a 15-minute walk away.Decorated in warm colour schemes, all of the rooms at Fuchsmuehle come equipped with satellite TV channels and a private bathroom.A breakfast buffet featuring organic and fair trade products can be booked for each morning.Drivers are welcome to use the guest house’s free parking spaces, and the A7 motorway is just 4.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Fuchsmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing