We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience of the old world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Fuchsmuehle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Fuchsmuehle
Ranked #2 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ambience of the old world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Driving around the old city walls down to the lower valley was the first delight of our stay at Pension Fuchsmuehle. From the stone- walled entrance, flowing river nearby, to the quaint water wheel seen from the window of the breakfast room, this is a place to step back in time and savour the ambience of the old world. The room was large and comfortable for the price. We walked at night up the paved path to enjoy the quiet streets of Rothenburg. It was steep but not too difficult.
The room was clean, the bathroom was fine, the bed was not the best we had but certainly adequate for the price. The location was stunning. We made the most of our day in the old city but I would have liked a 2nd day to hike in the Tauber valley around this little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a beautiful medieval town, that you should not miss. The Pension is just at the foot of the hill, nice walking though the forest to the town. Room are very clean, huge and quiet. The buffet breakfast is ample and tasty. The owners are really nice and friendly. I stayed there with my son and would highly recommend to families or anybody wanting to stay a few days in that neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ijjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a beautifully renovated corn-mill by the river in the Tauber valley just outside the town walls.
We were given a town map and directed to the path up to town. We chose the steep walk but there is always the option of driving. We were offered a torch in case we wanted to walk back when it was dark.
We were apprehensive that the water wheel was turning and might disturb our sleep but it is stopped at night.
The breakfast was good value at €7 and we were allowed to leave our car for a couple of hours after checking out.

I slept very well but those who sleep on their backs might find the bed too soft.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beemerboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pension Fuchsmuehle is a lovely family-run bed & breakfast set in a charming location next to the river. We were greeted by Alex who was very friendly and helpful, and showed us to our room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

We only stayed one night but made the most of our time in Rothenburg by climbing the steep hill over the river early on the first evening to take a wander around and enjoy dinner. Yes it is a steep climb, but to me it adds to the special charm of this place.

Breakfast the next morning was very good and then we set off back up the hill to enjoy Rothenburg some more before moving on. We were able to leave our car parked at the pension which was great.

Pension Fuchsmuehle represented excellent value – it was one of the cheapest places we stayed in our month long European visit – and it was definitely one of the best. A special place we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice place, the owner is very helpful. It helps if one has car as a little out of place but it has its own charm and would recommend it to all. The mill ,makes some noise but is turned off at night. Although we stayed when it was really hot summer weather, the lack of AC did not bother us,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisure1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here middle of June 2013. We had a one bedroom. I asked for a quiet room and was given room away from the mill, facing the yard. (Mill was not working when we were there because water levels were low). Eco friendly B&B, clothes are line dried, juices and milk are bio friendly and I read that they sell the extra electricity from the mill to the town. We had a car and drove to the gates of Rothenberg and parked just outside the gates. A 7 minute drive, but I could not see myself walking all that way and then walking about the town all day :-)
There is a small castle across the road and the whole area is picturesque.
Breakfast had cold meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and hard boiled eggs with fresh small rolls. Internet worked fine with us and there is a small fridge on the main floor filled with water, wine or beer (honor system, you write down how many you have taken).
I enjoyed being out of the town itself and out in the country, even though it is 7 minutes drive. Does not have A/C, but the temperatures were 21 during the day, so we were fine. A very relaxing stay and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavullia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Historic Mill in the valley of the Tauber, beautifully restored, we slept in the big family room under the roof.
Very good breakfast (don't miss it!), the town of Rothenburg can be reached with a little walk (the owner gave us a torch for the way back!) through an old wooden bridge.
A travel in time, we fell asleep to the sound of the water of the river...magic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Fuchsmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Fuchsmuehle

Property: Pension Fuchsmuehle
Address: Taubertalweg 103 | Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Fuchsmuehle 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuchsmuehle in the Medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber offers country-style rooms with free Wi-Fi internet. The historic Old Town is just a 15-minute walk away.Decorated in warm colour schemes, all of the rooms at Fuchsmuehle come equipped with satellite TV channels and a private bathroom.A breakfast buffet featuring organic and fair trade products can be booked for each morning.Drivers are welcome to use the guest house’s free parking spaces, and the A7 motorway is just 4.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Fuchsmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing