We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Fuchsmuehle
Ranked #2 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros: Everything. Clean, comfortable, modern, huge beds and spacious bedrooms, very friendly and cordial staff. Free wi-fi, free parking. Fantastic situation, in the middle of the woods but just 10 min away from the city.

Cons: None. But if I had to say something, maybe it's a bit difficult to find - we got lost because the street is not very well signed. Nothing that couldn't be solved introducing the coordinates in our GPS, though.

Overall: I'd totally recommend it and certainly would repeat if I return to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meritxell_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We knew that this B&B was a bit outside the city when we booked it. So we were a little worried about how far it would be from city center. We took a taxi and were pleasantly surprised when we were taken down the hill outside the wall to an absolutely charming traditional mill converted into a B&B. I honestly never expected to stay in such a unique place for such a great price. You had to admire the renovation work of the mill. Converting it into rooms was clearly done out of a labor of love and the rooms are surprisingly modern.

Breakfast was great! Some of the eggs were from the chickens grazing just outside the door and it was a wonderful spread of meats, cheeses, juices, coffee, and eggs. The host was gracious and discussed life in Germany with us as he served breakfast and gave us a taste of what modern life was like in this medieval town.

Of course, the big decision is do you want to be outside the city? If you are young and fit, walking up the scenic path to town will be no problem, but Rothenburg, as most medieval fortified cities, is on a hill and the path winds up this pretty steep hill. My husband and I walked it no problem, but it does take 15-20 minutes.

Room Tip: The top floor has a suite with 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom that is a great value for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intltravler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family of five had a double and a triple room in this charming family run establishment. It is very accessible to historic Rothenburg, with a path (rather steep, but fun) up the hill from the Tauber River valley. The accomodations are very modern in this working mill (the owner told us the mill now generates electricity - enough for 3 or 4 homes - rather than grinding grain) and it has a great family feel. The breakfast costs 7 Euros, but it is well worth it, with a wide selection and fresh local offerings. Overall this quiet, quaint, welcoming inn is a great find. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was our favourite place we stayed during our trip around Europe. We had a lovely bedroom with a window looking out onto the working mill and a bathroom plus plenty of shelving inside. The breakfast was 7 euros but well worth it for the lovely fresh produce - eggs boiled on demand, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, cereal, fruit, and fresh bread. The owner was very friendly. We really enjoyed walking through the bush up the hill into the town each day and also to the beergarden down the road surrounded by bush and next to a river. The path is a bit too steep for luggage so probably best to catch a taxi when you are leaving/arriving - I think it cost us around 10 euros. A beautiful B&B in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiwi_vs_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The hotel is in working mill building - that's very cool! Friendly family atmosphere, spacious and clean rooms with wooden finish. Location is great since it is out of city walls with genuine landscape, view on Tauber and walking path uphill to inner city which gives quite special impression of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pontiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The pension is a beautifully restored old watermill (still clapping). it has just 8 rooms and that together with the location provides very intimate feeling. it has "fairy-tale like" surroundings, with a river, other old Bavarian houses and a view of Rothenburg. There is also a great area for cycling along the river etc. The car is highly recommended, Rothenburg is not too far, but also not really close and it is steep uphill walk.
The room we had was very spacious and comfortable, the bathroom as well. Everything was clean and neat. And there was a very efficient heating (in winter really crucial and not all pensions provide that:).
The owner was really nice and helpful.
We got the breakfast (for 7eur) and were happy with that - fresh coffee and bread, choice of ham and salami, choice of cheeses, some cereals, marmelades, juices etc. pretty good for a small place.
The things to consider: if you can not climb stairs well, be sure to ask for lower level room, as there is no lift. Check the check-in time and if you come later, tell them and make the arrangements to get the keys.
Final verdict: We really liked both the pension and its location and hopefully we would come back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The mill was right out of a fable but the climb to visit Rothenberg was a nightmare. My guess is a 30 degree grade for about 15 minutes. I recommend staying in the center instead. The innkeepers were cordial.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Fuchsmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Fuchsmuehle

Address: Taubertalweg 103 | Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $76 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Fuchsmuehle 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuchsmuehle in the Medieval town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber offers country-style rooms with free Wi-Fi internet. The historic Old Town is just a 15-minute walk away.Decorated in warm colour schemes, all of the rooms at Fuchsmuehle come equipped with satellite TV channels and a private bathroom.A breakfast buffet featuring organic and fair trade products can be booked for each morning.Drivers are welcome to use the guest house’s free parking spaces, and the A7 motorway is just 4.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Fuchsmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing