We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel, very enjoyable, clean and good value”
Review of Hotel Goldene Rose

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nordlingen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Goldene Rose
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A comfortable, clean and good value hotel in Nordinglen which is a lovely walled city.
The rooms were very nice, we all slept well and had a great breakfast to help us continue on our way along the Romantic Road. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Good location just inside the wall heading south on the Romantic Road. We were allocated an attic room overlooking the main street. Thought it would be noisy but this town seens to just shut down after 8PM and nothing heard till 12 hours later. Very basic small old CRT color TV with no English programming. Restaurant was closed on the evening we were there but plenty of eateries open in the centre of town which is only a 5 minute walk away.
Room was clean and basic.
The "double bed" was 2 singles pushed together with a well defined and annoying hard beam at the join.
Watch your head when getting out of bed as the ceiling slopes awkwardly.
Breakfast was substantial with Yoghurt, cereal, cold meats, cheeses, fresh bread rolls,coffee & cakes.
Only cash accepted here (no credit/debit cards)
Free off street car parking at rear of premises

Room Tip: If you are tall, avoid the attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

When we arrived in Nordlingen to find the pensionne we'd reserved to be locked tight and unresponsive to the bell, we found our way to the Goldene Rose where we were graciously accommodated. The room was nothing fancy but adequate in every way with good beds and clean shower. Even though we were the only guests--it was quiet season--we were provided a great breakfast and personal attention. It's in a fine location to find your way about the walled city. Off-street parking was a nice benefit, but the owner accepted only cash (60 Euro) for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twoprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

The Hotel Goldene Rose is located just inside one of the entrances of the lovely walled town of Nordlingen and is within easy walking distance to the town centre. We stayed overnight in December (cost 70 Euros) at this 3 star hotel in a reasonably sized basic double room on the first floor (akin to an attic room) which was spotlessly clean. The bed was good and blankets were provided as an option to a quilt, although no hairdryer or drinking glasses / coffee facilities were readily available in the room.

The Hotel provides parking for guests and also has a restaurant (which was heavily patronised by locals at the time of our visit confirming the quality of food) and bar facilities creating a warm atmosphere. Breakfast was included in the tariff and comprised a typical European buffet style which was more than adequate.

Adding to our pleasant stay was the friendliness of both the proprietors (husband and wife) running the hotel along with that of the bar / restaurant staff.

In summary, a really nice 3 star hotel offering excellent value for money and would thoroughly recommend.

It should however be noted that the hotel only accepts cash (no credit cards) which is little surprising in this day and age.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Salat und Rostbraten sind vorzüglich.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank Bernhard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WoMo-Fan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nordlingen hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kaiser Hotel Sonne
Kaiser Hotel Sonne
#4 of 6 in Nordlingen
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthotel ANA Flair
Arthotel ANA Flair
#5 of 6 in Nordlingen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JUFA Hotel Noerdlingen
JUFA Hotel Noerdlingen
#1 of 4 in Nordlingen
111 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldene Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldene Rose

Address: Baldinger Str. 42, 86720 Nordlingen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Nordlingen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nordlingen
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing