We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Bavarian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gasthof Krone

Gasthof Krone
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
merseyside
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Traditional Bavarian”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really liked the décor here and the traditional menu. My wife's trout came with a baked potato in foil, carefully twisted and shaped to represent a swan (remember we were near to Hohenschwangau). Loved the fact that the waiter's mock mediaeval dress included a leather pouch that contained his computer pad for taking orders.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffNNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    366
    103
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional Bavarian food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Came here based on the recommendation of the receptionist of our hotel- it is definitely touristy but hey, most people in town are tourists... what do you expect.
The food was good- Having eaten at Augustiner in Munich and in the Oktoberfest beer tents- I feel the food here is actually quite authentic for bavarian food. We got to try to cheesy noodles and a few sausages that we didn't get to try while in Munich (one can only eat so much :) ).
The customer service was great, beer was so-so, but selection was great, price was reasonable- husband and I were happy after we dined there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MedusaAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food in traditional surroundings”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

“Very welcoming and superb local cuisine”
Jun 3, 2013 Julie C
We have eaten in this wonderful restaurant many times. The Bonhomie of both our friends (the current tennants) and the staff as well as the locals is always the same no matter the time of year. The food is always fresh, hot (right to the end of the meal) and tasty and superbly presented in the local style of cooking [from the roast lamb to my husbands favourite-the steak- and mine which is Potato Soup in the bun for lunch and Jaeger Schnitzel for dinner] and in the tradition set by the hotel, on medieval ceramic serving platters,( plate) and the drinks in mugs with no handles, a bib around our necks completes the look for good measure (and for those of us that occasionally spill our food)! I have never had a bad meal yet! Yum Yum!!! The service is second to none and the staff are so friendly, dressed in costume of the period, they are always eager to assist in a pleasant friendly manner. I would highly recommend this wonderful restaurant experience, I am certain that you will not be disappointed!
Helpful?

Report problem

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Inside looks like cheap immitation of medieval house. Typical tourist trap that was heavily promoted by concierge of our hotel.
We had trout and duck- trout was passable , the duck was terrible, overcooked, chewy, on the bed of greasy cabbage.
I would not come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lika7212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Shades of a Munich Beer Keller”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Found this restaurant just by wandering about this lovely town of Fussen looking for somewhere to eat and it was slightly off the beaten track. It turned out to be a "good find" Inside was what in my mind a Munich Beer Hall would look like (not that I have been) - quite a vast space full of tables and chairs and some "oompa oompa" entertainment. The four of us were invited to sit down at a table and provided with large bibs to protect our clothing which gave us a hint of what we might be in for. The food, typically German of course, was excellent as was the wine and beers and the cost worked out at about £25 per head for what was a very enjoyable night

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof Krone also viewed

 

Been to Gasthof Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing