We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Hotel - a lovely country Inn..”
Review of Landhaus Kossel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landhaus Kossel
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
golf4fun09
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a Hotel - a lovely country Inn..”
Reviewed October 25, 2008

The Landhaus Kossel was part of a Tour Package booked thru Castles of the World tour guide Astrid Baur.

It was what I would describe as a very lovely Bavaria Inn. The breakfast was included - fresh everday with the traditional German food but with some American breakfast choices.
The rooms were clean and roomy.
The view was fantastic but what made it so special for me was it took me back to my childhood when I would visit my aunt's farm.
The great flowers, horses and open spaces.
I would stay again at The Landhaus Kossel if I ever returned to Bavaria, Germany.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank golf4fun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
39
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
groningen
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We have been in Landhaus Kossel for five nights.We were very surprised when we entered our room.
It was beautiful,large, clean,very comfortable and from the balcony we had a very fine view.
We felt immediately at home.
We also loved the freedom to come and go,because we got the key of the front door.
We loved the great typical german breakfast very much.
The parking was good and safe.
The owner very kind.
So we have had a very pleasant stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MickyFrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2008

The Landhaus Kossel promised us a suite with living room, bedroom, kitchen and balcony, so my wife and I were expecting a sort of luxury hotel in the country. But that's not exactly what it turned out to be.

The first impression was the powerful smell from the large piles of manure by the cow-barn next to the front door. Second impression was the bell – the large loud bell - in the church across the street, which banged at length every fifteen minutes. As we found out next morning, the longest and loudest banging is at 6 am.

Inside, we were led up three or four flights of stairs to the “suite” which did indeed include kitchen, balcony, a large dining/ living room and several rooms with beds in them. Sort of like a dormitory or barracks, except that's not being fair to dormitories and barracks. For example, the info sheet in the room included the following item (my rough translation): “A start-packet of toilet paper, coffee filters, etc, is provided for free; if you need more, we will be glad to sell it to you.” Neither my college dormitory nor my army barracks charged me for toilet paper. Actually, this place is most like a youth hostel, except that it costs more.

They serve a typical German breakfast – bread, cold cuts and yoghurt, coffee, tea and juice – which we tried the first morning. It was good, but not worth 12 euros per person.

We had booked for a week, but tried to check out after the first night, and the first early wake-up by the six a.m. bells. But the landlady threatened to charge the entire week to the credit card we had reserved with, and we found the other nearby hotels were full up. So we stayed out our week. When we got used to it, it wasn't so bad.

But look ouf for the loud noises, strong odors, and paying for toilet paper.

  • Liked — lots of room
  • Disliked — smell of manure, sound of bells
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

i've asked about a reservation for 3 nights end aug-beg sept with my wife and my 2 dogs (dogs are accepted). Received an answer : no availability. I tried to book through another webside adress (with another name) for 2 adults and 2 kids. And there was availability. This is really a rude way to treat clients. If the owner do not accept 2 dogs, or if she think that a 3 nights stay is not enough, it would be very easy and understandable to explain it.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank philpetrus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Found reservation availability through hotel.de and it's well worth the trip to the extra site for this wonderful find. While the address is Fussen, it's not actually in the heart of town but in fact more near to Hopfen Am See, a gorgeous little lake town in the Alps. Minutes away from Fussen and castles, this hotel is clean, comfortable, spacious, and has amazing views of countryside and the Alps. Rather than go back to Fussen for dinner and evening, my husband and I chose to walk around Hopfen Am See where there are plenty of quaint little shops and restaurants, a peaceful atmosphere (and much closer walking from this hotel location) with fewer American tourists and more German/European tourists. The area is beautiful to do some walking and enjoy the view. Breakfast and service at the hotel was really nice and I would highly recommend this to anyone

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crnflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

This superb facility has all the luxury and splendor of the most expensive hotels, except it is affordable and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Top of the line breakfast every morning, THE best coffee and pastries. All of the comforts of home with so many extras. The owner, Marlies, is charming and accomodating to your every need. The views from every room are unparallelled to any other hotel in the area. A short 10 minute ride to the famous castles and only 5 minutes to Fussen, a quaint and beautiful town to shop. Hopfen, where the Landhaus is located, is a beautiful little town with a gorgeous lake at its center. Wonderful restaurants and cafe's to visit and shops, as well as a gorgeous walk around the lake in the evenings. I have stayed at the Landhaus twice now and each time there are more delights and surprises for every customer. Now Marlies has just added a spa facility and an outdoor pool, with the castle and the mountains as the back drop! Can't wait to get back!

  • Liked — Location, the owner, the views and how close it is to the castles
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kastlekats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I arrived at Landhous via booked tour with Castles of The World (also highly recommended!). The first review was right on. the hostess, Marlies is wonderful with the definite gift of hospitality and comfort. The locationof Landhaus mad our touring of Lake Constance, the castles, romantic Road sights and Austria absolutely perfect. The town of Hopfen is adorable and you ae guaranteed splendid photos of sunsets on the lake and on the Mountains surrounding the area. Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles are only a 15 minute ride away, there is plenty to explore in Fussen and the surrounding area. Roads are not crowded and clearly marked. This is a great place to make your home for a week while seeing and learning about lower Bavaria. Go!

  • Liked — The coziness and ability to
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzTheWoodlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.3 mi away
Biohotel Eggensberger
Biohotel Eggensberger
#20 of 40 in Fussen
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Hotel Am Hopfensee
#12 of 40 in Fussen
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
#2 of 3 in Hopfen am See
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischer am See
Hotel Fischer am See
#22 of 40 in Fussen
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seehotel Hartung & Ferienappartements
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ruebezahl
Hotel Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Kossel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Kossel

Property: Landhaus Kossel
Address: Hoehenstr. 8 | Hopfen am See, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fussen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landhaus Kossel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Landhaus Kossel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Kossel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing