We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Fancy- but we weren't expecting the Hilton!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of House L.A.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A.
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy- but we weren't expecting the Hilton!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at this Hostel for 2 nights. It was clean & the staff was wonderful. We were on the bottom floor & had the whole floor and 2 bathrooms to ourself the entire time. Breakfast was simple, but tasty & you could eat to your hearts content. It was within walking distance to the beautiful little town & a short drive to Neuschweinstein castle. We did find that we could have spent a little less at a hotel in the area, but I have no complaints whatsoever about House LA.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlnyelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

This hostel rocks! The staff is super friendly and helpful, absolutely no complaints. You have a great view of Neuschwanstein from your balcony and the staff would literally bend over backwards for you. At our staff, they had an intern their from Australia, so there were no language barriers. This hostel is clean, friendly, and has a great location.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

We arrived early in Füssen and Lahdo picked us up from the train station, even though it turns out we could have just walked because it was very close. That guy is a champion! He's super nice and very friendly.

The place was right near the old town close to the train station, where we could catch the bus to the castles. So we could walk everywhere and the town is very pretty!

The room was very clean and the bathrooms also very clean. Great water pressure in the showers. I had a great night's sleep and met some really interesting people.

The breakfast was ONLY 2 Euros!! and we had everything we needed. Served by some very nice staff - Thank you Mike & Agnieska!

What can I say, great people, top, quiet location, very close to everything and I felt very safe!

Thank you House L.A. and keep up the good work!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank digital_yuppyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

The owner now owns 3 accomodation locations. We stayed at the place at Von-Freyberg street.

We met the owner at his accomodation at Wachsbleiche 2 (nearest to the train station) as advertised in his website. Like the previous reviewer - it is confirmed that the place was not safe because the main door was not locked. I called the owner by the phone provided. We waited 45 minutes and called him twice before he actually came. To our dismay, he said he did not have any rooms there when we actually booked it 2 weeks ago.

He brought us to the other accomodation at Von-Freyberg. It is a new house and all furnishings were new.

Sure enough he only changed our sheets while we were standing waiting to go into our room. Did not really annoy me that much as the sheets were clean. What annoyed us was after a tired day, we return and found 5 ladies sharing the same bathroom. They used up the hot water that when I showered half way with shampoo in my hair and I had no hot water left!!! I had to shower it off with cold water in autumn weather. I SMS the owner asking him on the possibility to use another toilet and he did not reply!! The next morning it took us 1 hour to wait for our turns for the bathroom. Wasted my time.

Owner puts you in rooms that's available without taking note to whether you paid for 2 bed, 3 beds or 5 beds. Although we paid for more per person as we were in a smaller group, we had to sleep in a small room with bunk beds. The 5 ladies had a bigger room that can fit in 8 people and then the next night a couple checked in and had the same big room. I'm definately not paying value for money.

It is not a safe accomodation to stay. When checking out we were asked leave the keys to the house and room outside the porch. Owner was not present to collect the keys. YES KEYS LEFT OUTSIDE THE HOUSE. Someone can actually take the keys and come in easily.

The only good side - the the place was 5 minutes walk to the train station and we had quiet nights sleep. Would I stay here again? BIG NO! Unless I want to be robbed!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The security - there was none at all. The number of people sharing one bathroom. The owner not putting people in rooms for what they paid for
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fussen hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

We stayed at LA House for one night after visiting the castles and walk around the old town. Booked the accomodation through emails with the owner, everything was easy, no deposit was needed. Upon arrival, it was a bit confusing to find the hostel from the train station like many reviewers we passed it without knowing. There are two locations for this hostel, one is on the west end of the city (more house like), the other is a bit more central downtown (apt style) yet approx 10 min walk from the train station. Once you arrive, you have to use the phone hanging outside and call the owner. We waited about 10 min, he finally arrived and showed us our room. The door was unlock while we waited, at least we got a glimpse of our accomodation. Note: since the door is always unlock we had to make sure our bedroom door is locked at all times and our backpacks were locked too.

We booked for a double room. However, our place had a bunk bed and then a double bed which decreases the walking space a lot. There's only one light in the room, no air con or heating system during our stay (the weather was starting to go below 10C at night). I assume the owner wanted to save some money on hydro. The sheets and pillow cases were still being washed while we arrived. We had to wait for them, yet they were still wet - not too impressed. Had to blow dry them with my hairdryer. The wooden floors are ok, but squeaks when you walk on it. Shared bathroom was alright too, it did the job wasn't too dirty. There is a balcony outside with a castle view, not too shabby either. The walkway / stairs are all really dark during the night or day, perhaps it was due to the wet weather. If it was sunny, I think we would like the atomosphere a lot better.

Breakfast served was ok - bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, and some ham. Not must selections, but we were full.

Overall it just felt ghetto and grudgy looking - you get what you paid for, did the job. Would recommend just do a quick tour of the castle/city during the day, then head back to Munich for accomodation.

  • Liked — balcony view of the castles
  • Disliked — atmosphere - it was old, dark, and a bit dirty.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

I recently stayed in Fussen for 1 night with my partner, on our recent trip around Europe & the USA. It was the end of the summer season & fairly quiet, however, but we were still able to visit a lot of the town, & enjoyed ourselves a great deal.

We booked our accommodation via the Internet, & confirmed a place to stay for the duration of our holiday. On our arrival (via car) we had to stop at the information centre to ask directions, as googlemaps did not do a good job of mapping out the location. We finally arrived, but were told we had to follow the Manager in his van over to the hostel located right in the town centre – I know that this happened to others as well, so if you are walking from the train station, don't worry as the Manager will take you there as well. The hostel was pretty much right in the town – about a pleasant 5-minute walk away.

The hotel was in acceptable shape, with some old sections up the top & newer rooms down the bottom. A couple of the rooms on the bottom story had their own door to the outside as well. There appeared to be multiple types of rooms here – we saw rooms with bunk beds, rooms with some bunkbeds & a double bed, but our room was just a double bed on it's own. There was a table & 2 chairs in the room as well, but that was about it. A lot of the room has not been finished off, so there were wires hanging out of the walls & stuff. We had booked a room with a private bathroom, but on arrival were told that they had given it to someone else. It was a bit disappointing (& no explanation was really given), but at least they didn't charge us for the more expensive room. Upstairs there is an Internet computer (it's not free to use but I can't remember how much it was, sorry) as well as the breakfast room & a small fridge. There is also an old balcony where you can see the castle Schloss Neuwanstein in the distance. The beds & bedding were in good condition, & I suppose by hostel standards it was quite nice, especially considering breakfast is included. Please note that this is not a party hostel – you are not allowed to make noise between 10pm & 6am. We met another couple who were travelling & sat outside just talking at about 11pm & got told off twice. Some other girls who were laughing in their room were also asked to stop making noise. There is no curfew however, so you can go out & do what you want elsewhere.

Breakfast was served upstairs & there was a small range of continental products to choose from – fresh coffee/juice, plus rolls, cheese & various spreads. Not a great selection, but it was fresh & tasty, & it did the job. There is parking at the hostel – about 3 parks up the top & then several more down the bottom, although if you have a large vehicle then you will need to park up the top (the driveway is really narrow to get to the bottom). The castles are about a 10-minute drive through a very beautiful forest area, & some nice places to stop by the lake are about a 15-minute drive in the other direction.

All in all, if you are after a decent roof over your head at hostel prices, & want to be close to the castles/lake for a day or two of exploring. This hostel would mostly suit young singles or young groups. If we are ever back in Fussen then we would probably book here again. Thanks for a satisfactory stay!

  • Liked — Close to town & castles
  • Disliked — It was unfinished
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBagpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alatsee
Hotel Restaurant Alatsee
#24 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Alpengluehn
Hotel Alpengluehn
#10 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#34 of 39 in Fussen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A.

Property: House L.A.
Address: Welfenstr. 39, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House L.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House l.a. Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing