We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of House L.A.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House L.A.
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Family of 5 originally planned to stay 2 nights but left after one. We were in the apartment that was a few streets from the main house. The owner was very nice but when we arrived he took us to the apartment and while we were unpacking the car he was changing the sheets on all the beds.I don't think anything else in the apartment got cleaned. This place was dirty. The cork floor in the kitchen smelled, as did the whole place. Definately would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rebima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The owner Lahdo was very friendly and accommodating. Our hostel was really value-for-money. It was cheap and came with breakfast and for that you would expect a more run-down place. But no, the furniture and toilet fittings were all well-maintained.

Breakfast was provided downstairs in the kitchen area. It’s a great place for people traveling on a budget. Location is about 10-15mins walk from the train station in town but you can’t find a better place for this low price. A great place at a great price!

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank acme15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins MN
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2007

I stayed in the location close to the town center. It was an ideal location to get anywhere in the city. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. I had to leave early for a train and they packed me a HUGE lunch to go since I missed breakfast!
I used Fussen as a base to go hiking and biking into Austria and nearby towns. Personally I didn't even do the castle tours...they let you walk all around and on the bridge without being on a tour.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picantepina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We travelled Europe in 3 weeks and stayed in over 13 different hotels/bed and breakfasts and this one is in the top 3.
When we arrived in the afternoon, we were greeted by the owner of this house. It had clean, charming curb appeal and we felt very welcome the minute we spoke to the owner. We settled in and made our way up to the Castle.

There was 3 of us in our party, and we all slept in the same room. It was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. The room was super clean and the bathroom was clean as well, although it was a shared bathroom. Nonetheless, it was still clean. There were other travelers there at the time, but everyone was respectable and quiet and there were no problems there.

In the morning, we were greeted with the BEST breakfast we had had in our 3 week travels. It was healthy, wholesome and delivered to us by the owner. I wish I could remember his name..he was just great. We enjoyed our breakfast, and left on a full tummy. To this day, we swear we will stay at House LA when we go back. This area of the country is beautiful and well worth checking out.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Can't say anything negative!
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewCitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a hostel, with mountain views and a 10-15 minute walk from the railway station, in a quiet area where the traveller is guaranteed a good rest. They have another hostel in town for those who wish to be close to the action. The manager is very welcoming and assists with transport to and from the railway station if required. We enjoyed a good breakfast, and a visit to the Fairytale Castle before travelling on to Innsbruck by busand train.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — no problems
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oko39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2007

An enjoyable place near the King Ludwig II castles. Our family of four appreciated having the attic suite with its own bathroom/shower. Having breakfast brought to our room at a time of our choosing was a nice touch and we all enjoyed the hot freshly baked rolls. A little distant from the city center of Fussen, but the 3/4 mile walk was a pleasant one along the suburban street upon which L.A. House is situated.

  • Liked — good value for price
  • Disliked — a little distant from city center
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northnorthnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We thought we were booked for House LA - but were actually put in another property nearby that the owner also owns.
The details of the House LA website does not make this clear, so when booking make sure you ask which building you will be in as I suspect there is quite a difference in facilities.

The building and rooms we stayed in were pretty basic, and I would say best suited at the back-packer market. The facilities are basic (shared toilets and showers), but clean. The staff and the proprietor were helpful and friendly.

The building is near the town centre (10 minute walk)

However, if you are on a budget, at 18 euros per night (per person) including a good breakfast, it is as cheap as you will find in Fussen if you are after budget accomodation.

  • Liked — Staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — Bunk beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fussen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
817 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
584 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#34 of 40 in Fussen
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kurhotel Jakob
Kurhotel Jakob
#16 of 40 in Fussen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A.

Property: House L.A.
Address: Welfenstr. 39, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House L.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House l.a. Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing