We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House LA, Wachsbleiche” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of House L.A.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House L.A.
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Dorset, United Kingom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“House LA, Wachsbleiche”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have to give a mixed review for this hostel. I was travelling with my wife and two 18 yo children. The points I wasn't happy with: We originally booked for two nights, then contacted the hostel by email later while travelling asking if we could extend this to 5 nights, receiving a confirmation that this "was ok". On arrival I had to show the staff that email to actually get those nights as they could not find the reservation. The room had a double bed and two bunks, with no storage space for clothes, just a sofa. The sink in the room had no hot water, neither did the sink in the shower room next door. There are no kitchen facilities for guests who wish to self cater, only a room with tables and chairs which contains a small fridge freezer and a kettle. We had to ask for plates, mugs and cutlery. On arrival we should also have been asked to fill in a registration form which is required by law and have one passport copied. This was not done. My wife and I discovered that when you stay in Fussen, your landlord should provide plastic "Fussen Cards" which give the holder free travel on the local buses and trains, which includes the bus to Hohen-Schwangau and Neushwanstein Castles, about 3k distant. When we asked about theses we were given a single paper registration receipt, which we were told was the same thing. It was refused by the bus drivers.

The good parts:- We contacted the owner who was able to provide the cards the next evening and was very apologetic. The hostel is only a short distance from Fussen Old Town, the Torist info centre and the railway station and the town and surrounding area is very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely place very clean, was great to have free Wifi too.
House L.A. is in a great location for walking into town to restaurants or walking to the local supermarket.
Only complaint was that I found it a bit cold in our room on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was hands down one of my favourite hostels in Germany, and possibly even in Europe! No it may not have a kitchen and yes the security is pretty bad, but overall I don't understand why this it has received so many bad reviews when the hostel is surrounded by such beauty. The place has a cabin sort of feel to it and you can see the Neuschwanstein Castle from the attic window, and you can also rent a bike from the hostel for 8 euros and explore the surrounding trails that loop around the castles. The staff were very friendly and accommodating during my stay, and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. My only complaint is that there was no door for the attic/dorm room so you could hear every little thing when you were trying to sleep, but I'm sure the private rooms were a lot quieter/safer.

Room Tip: The attic/8 bedroom dorm can be very noisy as it has no door, and if you're one of the last ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my husband n 2kids in 2bed apt.was great,very clean and warm,small but you are out most of the time so it does the job.plenty of hot water and free wifi.close to the town,free parking.would definetly recommend it.the owner Lahdo is very helpful and friendly

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank carolsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at the Apartments for 1 night to see the local castles.
Arrived late around 7pm - nobody there as expected but there is a phone to contact the owner at the front door. Very easy with a couple of numbers to call owner. He answered promptly and arrived in 5 minutes. Apparently he owns a few accommodations in town.
We had room 5 with room for 7 people and view of the alps. It had a large main room with double, bunks, a single, and dining table. Also had a separate bedroom with bunk beds and small table/chairs. Then a bathroom with bath/shower, toilet, sink. Outside the room there was a shared fridge. All the rooms are different so check what suits you best.
Linens were all clean, room was clean, warm and we were very happy with everything.
Highly recommend the apartments to all.

Room Tip: Room 5 with view of alps was great for family of 5-7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pastrengo, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

On our way back and forth we stayed two nights at Von Freybergstrasse 26 in room nr.3, 4 beds, private bathroom/wc and nr1. 4 beds, private bathroom/wc and a small kitchenette. Both at ground floor. The rooms were small, clean and tidy. Lahdo the owner was very friendly and helpful. We requested for room nr.3 but got nr.1 with kitchenette instead with no extra charge. We strongly recomend LA House for the short stayer or those who are just passing by. From the house to the left 10 minutes walk to the town. To the right 5 minutes walk to REWE grocery en bakkery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoPastrengo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I booked a 6 bed mixed dorm for my fiance and myself. We were put in the "attic dorm" which is a very tight/crowded 8 with no door, lockers, or even a place to set your smallest of luggage (not even under the beds). When we confronted the owner he try to charm his way out of the situation. It seems they don't list the 8 and just stick you in there when you book a six. The house creaks with every step, which would be just fine if the attic want open to the rest of the house. The front door is NEVER locked (which would be fine if the attic had a door).

They do have wireless internet thoroughout the house (except the attic of course) and the location is excellent for Fussen and the castles.

Long story short... I hope you do not book here on principle, but if you must, book a private room! I can not stress this enough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvinflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fussen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alatsee
Hotel Restaurant Alatsee
#23 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#6 of 39 in Fussen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 39 in Fussen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Faulenbach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House L.A.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House L.A.

Property: House L.A.
Address: Welfenstr. 39, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your House L.A. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House l.a. Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing