We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird but cosy”
Review of Old Kings Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Kings Hostel
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weird but cosy”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This little hostel is thoughtfully and carefully furnished but unfortunately to no great effect. We were placed in the Inca room which I would not recommend even if you don't mind bunk beds. It was very, very small (space enough for the bunk and not much else), the light in the room is rather dim, there are only two showers (both of which malfunction in various ways) and one toilet for all females in the hostel, kitchen is awkwardly located right next to reception and pin-entry locks on the adjacent dorm rooms are deafeningly loud, enough to disturb your sleep. We also had mixed service from reception. It varied from friendly and informative to somewhat aggressive/awkward (one staff member demanded to be greeted by three guests entering the hostel, which is strange as there's no direct view into reception as you enter the hostel and go upstairs). However the hostel is fantastically located and this became a huge plus for us. Lastly, laundry service is unreliable so don't count on it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank misomis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    31
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
30
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in The Mad King (private double) room this fall. The hostel was pretty easy to find, just off the main pedestrian street in Fussen. The hostel has so much personality, and both girls at reception were fabulous. The bed was comfortable and the room small, but cozy. The bathroom was very clean and looked brand new, and they had a hair dryer there as well, which is very helpful. Mostly was made this place great was all of the details they put into making this a 'design' hostel. I also LOVED the free coffee and tea and 4euro laundry service. This hostel was everything we had hoped, and the perfect base for exploring Fussen and Castles.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the UK room with a friend for 2 nights. Although it was quite nice, it was extremely cramped and difficult to do anything other than sit in bed. The bed was quite private (I had the top bed) and the reading lamp was good. I was also worried as there were only 2 female toilets but I have to say, that it wasn't a problem in the end. There were also only 2 showers which I think lacked privacy. The bathroom was in a nice condition. It was nice, it just didn't suit me and I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although it was a little difficult to find it was one of the nicest places i stayed while travelling around Europe. The staff were great and offered us a hot drink and a map as soon as we entered. The room was spotless and the beds were cosy and comfortable. The bathrooms were clean but a little cramped but i could over look this for the amazing hospitality we received. Stay here and you wont regret it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illertissen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really great and familiar hostel in the old town of this beautiful city. The staff is helpful and friendly!
The hostel is only 5 minutes away from the station; rooms are clean and lovely equipped.
Fully can recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamasch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Fussen is by nature a quiet town, and so is this hostel, which can be hard to find when you first arrive, and then you wonder why after your first day. The hostel has a good idea and a nice atmosphere, very much depending on who stays there. As a solo traveller I was in one of the 8 bed dorms, the first night I had one of the middle bunks, they have 2 stand alone beds,and then 3 high bunk beds. The ladder to get up to the bunk bed wasn't the easiest, and then because it was a middle bunk you really had to swivel and contort yourself to get into the bed. I spent 4 nights here, and 3 of the nights I had respectful bunk mates. The hostel is ideal for getting to the fairy tale castles, and most people tend to stay just one night therefore. I would advise staying longer as Fussen is a lovely town, and there is plenty to see in the vicinity.

Room Tip: If you can book one of the smaller rooms, do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I loved this peaceful little hostel. It was very clean, the staff were extremely welcoming and the location is a charming street near the town center. I stayed in the Persia Room which was brand new and very comfortable. The ladies bathrooms are very clean. The kitchen is well equipped if you like to cook. I would skip breakfast because there are so many nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Hostel

Property: Old Kings Hostel
Address: Franziskanergasse 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Kings Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Kings design hostel is located within Fuessen's medieval city walls and is only a 7 minute walk from the train station. Occupying a historic townhouse, Old Kings is where hip meets history: Relax in our King's Loft or Gryffindore dorms or enjoy the canopy bed in our "King of Dreams" double room. Meet other travellers over a drink at the communal table in our lounge or borrow a book from our library. And don't forget to grab one of our bikes to explore the crystal clear lakes, mountains and castle ruins that surround us. There is much more to Fuessen than just Neuschwanstein - the surrounding nature is a hiker's and biker's paradise with beautiful Bavarian villages and amazing mountain climbs almost starting at our door steps. And the baroque "Wieskirche", a Unesco World heritage site, is just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Kings Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing