We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could have stayed longer.”
Review of Old Kings Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Kings Hostel
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Butte
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I wish I could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I loved this peaceful little hostel. It was very clean, the staff were extremely welcoming and the location is a charming street near the town center. I stayed in the Persia Room which was brand new and very comfortable. The ladies bathrooms are very clean. The kitchen is well equipped if you like to cook. I would skip breakfast because there are so many nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
29
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Speechless. My husband and I only stayed here for one night, but the service was impeccable!! The staff were funny, helpful, courteous and accommodating. There is not a single fault we could say. Cheap too!! My husband and I walked to the castle from the hotel. It was far enough that we could have caught a bus, but the walk was lovely. The hotel had many shops around and restaurants to dine in. Stay here if you can!!! We stayed in a private room and for a hostel you felt like it was a hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The_tuckerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excellent, newly renovated hostel in the old district of a fabulous little Bavarian town! You are basically right in the middle of the old district and all its small town charm. The hostel itself is very clean and comfy. The dorm rooms were a bit tight (I was in the 3rd floor 8-bed dorm - hint, get the corner beds, they're not stacked). The men's restroom is also tiny (but clean), but I'm not taking points off things I'm mentally expecting in random hostels. While in the area, take the bus to Neuschwanstein castle. You will not regret it! If you have time, take the cable car up to Tegelberg, and do the 2.5 hour hike down to Neuschwanstein. You will have photo ops to show off on Facebook that 95% of the other tourists do not have. The security locker in the dorm is very small (it's just a dresser drawer), and it needs a very tiny lock in order to secure it. My normal school-locker type lock would not fit.

Room Tip: Get the corner beds on the 3rd floor 8-bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Two middle aged Aussie ladies enjoyed the ambience and comfort of the UK room. Thanks to the front desk for directions to a great restaurant for dinner and advise on the best way to obtain tickets for the day at the castles, (get up very early). The hostel is in central Fussen, quiet and very clean. Just remember to have your comfortable walking shoes with you.

Room Tip: there isn't a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrísses, Khania, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an excellent, clean, highly maintained hostel. The front desk staff was phenomenal in helping us, and it was truly a great experience. I will be staying again when visiting Fussen in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVasilakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Definetely a nice place to stay, when visiting the Ludwig of Bavaria castle.
Füssen is a lovely city, and the Old Kings hostel is just perfect: city-center, brand-new (we stayed there in May 2013), staff was remarkably helpful.

We were on a family trip, and had the "Africa" dortoir just for us on the top floor with 8 beds. Impeccably clean.

Good luck and long-live to this lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_reg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in the Prince of Persia dorm during my bike trip around wonderful Füssen! And I really have to say that I felt at home the moment I entered the living room. The hostel is very new and the owners (4 very nice boys) have created a wonderful familiar atmosphere!

The breakfast was also very good and the best for my start in the biking day! I especially liked the hostel because it is a small one and not one of those loud party hostels. And everything is clean and the staff is also very friendly and helps you with all your questions! I also recommend the pizza evening in the cozy kitchen! All in all just go for it! You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Apart Hotel Fussen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Hostel

Property: Old Kings Hostel
Address: Franziskanergasse 2, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Kings Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Kings design hostel is located within Fuessen's medieval city walls and is only a 7 minute walk from the train station. Occupying a historic townhouse, Old Kings is where hip meets history: Relax in our King's Loft or Gryffindore dorms or enjoy the canopy bed in our "King of Dreams" double room. Meet other travellers over a drink at the communal table in our lounge or borrow a book from our library. And don't forget to grab one of our bikes to explore the crystal clear lakes, mountains and castle ruins that surround us. There is much more to Fuessen than just Neuschwanstein - the surrounding nature is a hiker's and biker's paradise with beautiful Bavarian villages and amazing mountain climbs almost starting at our door steps. And the baroque "Wieskirche", a Unesco World heritage site, is just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Kings Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing