We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and authentic”
Review of Restaurant Kelari

Restaurant Kelari
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a perfect lunch at Kelari on Saturday. We've been to Greece many times and the food at Kelari was a perfect reflection of authentic Greek food. Simple, fresh, well cooked, good value and delicious. I enjoyed every part of our meal. To address one of the other reviews, Greek food is often served warm and not burning hot.

I would highly recommend this restaurant as some of the best Greek food outside of Greece!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewsAndExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    105
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“What we needed in Fussen!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

On our recent visit to Germany we arrived in Fussen after a long beautiful drive from the Zugspitze which was fantastic. We had a tough time finding our hotel in Fussen (GPS was uncooperative) and we were pretty tired. While the hotel had dinner it looked pretty tired too so we decided to walk into town and take our chances. The walk by the way was a wonderful path along the river, really interesting. In any event we emerged up a stone staircase into the town and walked around a bit. We immediately noticed Kelari which looked cute but small and closed.
Well after a walk around the city and viewing several traditional German alternatives we decided to go back and see if Kelari was open. We were glad that we did.

The restaurant is delightful. It is modern but has a distinct Mediterranean flair. The tables are nicely set and the staff obviously works at making the service refined. For example, we received a complimentary aperitif and appetizer which were both quite good. We ordered a Greek salad and one of the special plates to share. There was more than enough food. The plate had kabobs and an additional meat entre as well as rice and vegetables. It was cooked very nicely. The salad was traditional Greek with all the expected inclusions.

Best of all the bill was about $30 for the food and a glass of beer and a glass of wine.

We were quite pleased. It was just what we needed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This restaurant was exactly what we were looking for!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Must go! We are a family of four and our bill with a bottle of wine (and they were gracious enough to let us buy their yummy olive paste that they import from Greece at less than half of the price we paid in Greece) was very affordable! The food was delicious, the kids want to go back again tomorrow! The service was also great, we were not rushed through our meal, they spoke great english and had English menus. It is very clean and not cluttered, lot's of elbow room to fight over the delicious baked feta!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CatChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Was a little disappointed with this resaturant; the food was well cooked and nicley presented but expensive and lacked any wow factor.

My starter was only luke warm and there was too little choice in wines for us. It is cosy inside and service was fine but for the same money we have had far better meals in Germany.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittybat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
“Nice time having at the Kelari restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really love this restaurant, nice atmosphere and greek food remind me my lovely Greece! Professional service garanteed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 957MarketaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kelari also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Kelari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing