We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B and B”
Review of Suzanne's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suzanne's
Ranked #15 of 23 Fussen B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This B and B is beautiful from the outside, and comfortable, clean and cozy inside. Suzanne was very informative in the city and sightseeing information she provided. Our room was cozy and had great views. The location was quiet. Even though the train tracks run very near by, we were not bothered by any noise from the trains. Breakfast was very good. I am not looking for extra services when I travel, but services such as internet access, an exercise bike and massages were offered for an extra fee-and having a TV was offered for an extra fee of 5 Euro a day. The hotel had a reading room with a selection of books to read, which I preferred to paying for TV!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

He said:

We arrived mid-afternoon from Italy and were greeted by Suzanne who quickly gave us the rundown on the town of Fusen and her recommendations for touring the castles. Very to the point and business-like. Our room was one with a balcony on the 2nd level and it was spotless, roomy and well decorated.

On her site and in her communications with us it was stated that there was internet access. When I asked if she had Wifi, Suzanne quickly replied that she wanted no part of wireless. We didn't pursue the issue but we were offered a PC on the upper level for a fee... which we declined.

Breakfast was hearty with a good selection compared to other B & B's we've stayed at. One issue we had with Suzanne however came when we asked if we could check out a little later (10:30 am) as there was a Saturday morning market we would have enjoyed strolling through in the morning. When we asked her the night before she resisted at first, but agreed since we were just planning a quick walk-through. The next morning she acted quite exasperated and insisted we leave our luggage under the stairs. No offense to her other guests, but we are not about to leave our belongings under a set of stairs beside an exit for any amount of time.

Her establishment is very nice, but because of her attitude and various fees for items that are included elsewhere, I would be inclined to search more thoroughly for vacancies in the area before booking with her again.

She said...
I have mixed feelings about Suzanne's as well. She was helpful when we first arrived and our room was spotless and spacious. Although the weather was cool when we were there it would have been quite pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking her delightful yard filled with flowers. I thought the breakfast was delicious with breads, sliced meat, soft-boiled eggs, fruit cocktail and coffee and tea. Suzanne is not very communicative during this breakfast time, but who can blame her as she attends the needs of all of her guests.
We stayed for two evenings and I was mildly surprised to discover that she comes into the room during the daytime to adjust towels and make the bed (maybe it's a German thing). If I knew this I might not have left items from my luggage about the room.
If you are looking for clean (literally spotless) and modern accommodation with a filling breakfast this place is the spot. If you enjoy connecting with the B&B proprietor and/or other guests, or like to have access to the internet I recommend you look elsewhere. Suzanne runs a tight ship and can come across as brusk. When it's time to check-out there is little flexibility (don't let the door hit you on the way out) because she is extremely focused on meticulously cleaning each room.

We recommend this B&B because it is clean and spacious, but it would be nice if it was less like a business venture and more like a passion for her.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YEGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The lady claims to be an American. she speaks without accent, true, but you would never account such an attitude in an American B&B. The woman behaved as if she was doing us a huge favor by allowing us to pay her over the nose for a mediocre accommodation and leave our footprints in you precious house. Whatever question we asked, the answer was invariably "no", or "you have to pay extra for that", be it a map of Germany to consult or 5 min of internet time to check the weather. Her website claims "internet access" which turned out to be an ancient PC, and she is charging exorbitant fee for using it. No Wi-Fi, not even a possibility to connect a laptop to the network. When I asked about the latter, she snarled back as if I was asking for a pound of her flesh: "There was a guest here, who claimed to have worked for IBM, who connected his computer and after that I had to pay 200 euro for repair!" Leaving aside the idiocy of an assumption that attaching a laptop can ruin an internet connection, to replace her entire equipment from scratch would cost 50 bucks!

The breakfast was one of the worse I ever had in Germany. The choices were limited, cheese and sausage were clearly bought from the cheapest supermarket in miles.

You leave the place with such an unpleasant feeling that it nearly ruins the impression of the beautiful castles and splendid view around.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mdinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed two nights
Great room
Breakfast was yummy and plentiful

Got advice on what to do and where to eat.

Good value for the money and a great location

Free parking

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAndLubaAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I, along with his parents, based out of Suzanne's to tour the castles of Neuschwanstein, Hoenschwangau and Linderhof. Suzanne's advice on where to eat, shop for for cuckoo clocks, and how to best work the tours was perfect, and right on the money. Her home was wonderful; we had a great room with en suite bath and balcony, as well as a little room with no bath, and both were delightful. Her English is perfect, and the FOOD at breakfast was the best of our whole trip. We would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamcooper2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We only stayed in Fussen for one night and Suzanne's had reasonable prices. Nice home, clean, great breakfast. The quality of meats, cheeses, and bread was the best in Europe. It was quiet.

It was inconvenient to mail a check with strange instructions instead of the standard way of securing the room with a credit card. We came very close to going somewhere else because of this. Suzanne's is a short-medium walk from the town, 10 min. Free parking down the street.

I can understand what people are talking about concerning Suzanne's personality. She can rub you the wrong way. However, she did open up a bit and you could see underneath that tough exterior, a good hearted, fair minded, feeling person.

We ended up liking her because we didn't take her demeanor personally. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerOrangeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 young daughters. Suzanne had bikes delivered and waiting for us when we arrived. She loaned us her map and sat down to explain the best "off the beaten path" places to ride and swim. The apartment we rented was clean and our girls loved playing on the swing in the backyard. A bit pricy but if you want to stay in a nice, incredibly cute place in Fussen it's gonna cost more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 41 in Fussen
1,676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central City Hotel
Central City Hotel
#9 of 41 in Fussen
248 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dreimaderlhaus
Dreimaderlhaus
#1 of 23 in Fussen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#3 of 23 in Fussen
277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pension Steigmuehle
Pension Steigmuehle
#4 of 23 in Fussen
69 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
Hartungs Hotel Dorf
#2 of 3 in Hopfen am See
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzanne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzanne's

Address: Im Venetianerwinkel 3, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range: $169 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Suzanne's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suzanne`s Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing