We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! We loved Suzanne's”
Review of Suzanne's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suzanne's
Ranked #15 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful! We loved Suzanne's”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed with Suzanne in June for several nights. We were very pleased and now I am spoiled. I am not sure if any other B&B will ever measure up. Her home is spotless (and I mean spotless), everything is so well organized, and Suzanne goes the extra mile to make sure everything is thought of (an example is breakfast - Suzanne offers fresh bread from the baker, eggs from the farmer, cheese from a cheese maker down the street, etc.). We thouroughly enjoyed our stay. And she recommended a great restaurant in town, the Ritterstub'n Restaurant. One of the best meals I had in Germany!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennesseetraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    14
    18
    24
See reviews for
45
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Suzanne's B&B is located near the train station and is easy to find. Not far away from Füssen centre. Everything worked fine and breakfast was okay, but the host wasn't very friendly. She gave us a map and showed where to visit, but everytime asking her something, you didn't know is she friendly or rude.

But if you just ignore the host, this isn't a bad place to sleep. Room was hot during the day, cos it was mid summer and +28 celcius degrees outside, but in the evening when keeping windows open it was cooler and okay to sleep. We stayed at the attic room. No noise from the other rooms or outside. There's no decorations in the room. Room and it's bathroom were tidy.

You can rent a bike direct from the B&B. Cost 9 euros per 24 hours. With a bike it's easy to visit all the attractions like Castle Neuschwanstein and Alpen See.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Would love to go back. The day we spent at Fussen was absolutely perfect! The beauty of the area is incredible. Suzanne's hospitality and help were wonderful. The location was very convenient, a short walk to the train station and town. My husband and I spent one of the most memorable nights of our trip enjoying an after-dinner backyard bonfire and bottle of peach schnapps with Suzanne and swapping funny stories into the wee hours. What a delite! She had great suggestions for our trip and even booked us a room at our next destination since she was concerned for us traveling without reservations.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We had a horrible experience with a horrible lady! I had been traveling for 24 hours by trains and buses, and my parents had been traveling for about 15 hours by trains and planes when we finally made it to Suzanne’s B&B. We were greeted by a couple who had also just arrived and said they were alone in the house. So, we let ourselves in, and found our own rooms. We went out to find a restaurant for dinner and when we came back Suzanne had returned and stopped us in the foyer demanding to be paid. No ‘hello’ or ‘welcome’ or any sort of considerate formalities. I know in the literature it says that she’s an American, but with her extremely strong German accent I find it highly unlikely. We brought her a credit card, and she laughed and pushed it away and made it very clear she didn’t want it. We offered to write her a check, and again she laughed. In all of her communications with us, she said she accepted all types of payment. Well, by the time she actually showed up to her B&B, the banks were all closed. We offered to pay her in American money, or work something out so we could go exchange for Euros immediately when the banks opened in the morning. She was snotty and rude and very disrespectful to my father. She told us to give her Euros immediately for our entire week stay, or we had 30 minutes to get out. I’ve worked in customer service for many years, and tried speaking to her rationally about everything… and she let me know that I was just wasting time I could be packing. 25 minutes later we were on our way out the door into the dark night, in a town we had never been to before, in the pouring rain. The last things she said to us was that she would appreciate for us to tip her. Yes, that’s right… she had the audacity to ask us for a tip. I used to live in Germany, and I can guarantee you that this horrible, money hungry woman isn’t ‘typical’ German. She also charges quite a fee to use her old-as-a-dinosaur computer, and 25 Euros per load of laundry.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dairyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fussen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Suzanne's B&B is quiet, cozy and offers a fabulous breakfast. However, Suzanne herself isn't very friendly. She is helpful with info regarding local sightseeing information, but that's about it. Our stay was nice, but I think we would've enjoyed it more had she been a little more welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mieko2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This B and B is beautiful from the outside, and comfortable, clean and cozy inside. Suzanne was very informative in the city and sightseeing information she provided. Our room was cozy and had great views. The location was quiet. Even though the train tracks run very near by, we were not bothered by any noise from the trains. Breakfast was very good. I am not looking for extra services when I travel, but services such as internet access, an exercise bike and massages were offered for an extra fee-and having a TV was offered for an extra fee of 5 Euro a day. The hotel had a reading room with a selection of books to read, which I preferred to paying for TV!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

He said:

We arrived mid-afternoon from Italy and were greeted by Suzanne who quickly gave us the rundown on the town of Fusen and her recommendations for touring the castles. Very to the point and business-like. Our room was one with a balcony on the 2nd level and it was spotless, roomy and well decorated.

On her site and in her communications with us it was stated that there was internet access. When I asked if she had Wifi, Suzanne quickly replied that she wanted no part of wireless. We didn't pursue the issue but we were offered a PC on the upper level for a fee... which we declined.

Breakfast was hearty with a good selection compared to other B & B's we've stayed at. One issue we had with Suzanne however came when we asked if we could check out a little later (10:30 am) as there was a Saturday morning market we would have enjoyed strolling through in the morning. When we asked her the night before she resisted at first, but agreed since we were just planning a quick walk-through. The next morning she acted quite exasperated and insisted we leave our luggage under the stairs. No offense to her other guests, but we are not about to leave our belongings under a set of stairs beside an exit for any amount of time.

Her establishment is very nice, but because of her attitude and various fees for items that are included elsewhere, I would be inclined to search more thoroughly for vacancies in the area before booking with her again.

She said...
I have mixed feelings about Suzanne's as well. She was helpful when we first arrived and our room was spotless and spacious. Although the weather was cool when we were there it would have been quite pleasant to sit on the balcony overlooking her delightful yard filled with flowers. I thought the breakfast was delicious with breads, sliced meat, soft-boiled eggs, fruit cocktail and coffee and tea. Suzanne is not very communicative during this breakfast time, but who can blame her as she attends the needs of all of her guests.
We stayed for two evenings and I was mildly surprised to discover that she comes into the room during the daytime to adjust towels and make the bed (maybe it's a German thing). If I knew this I might not have left items from my luggage about the room.
If you are looking for clean (literally spotless) and modern accommodation with a filling breakfast this place is the spot. If you enjoy connecting with the B&B proprietor and/or other guests, or like to have access to the internet I recommend you look elsewhere. Suzanne runs a tight ship and can come across as brusk. When it's time to check-out there is little flexibility (don't let the door hit you on the way out) because she is extremely focused on meticulously cleaning each room.

We recommend this B&B because it is clean and spacious, but it would be nice if it was less like a business venture and more like a passion for her.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YEGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fussen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
451 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#4 of 24 in Fussen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suzanne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suzanne's

Property: Suzanne's
Address: Im Venetianerwinkel 3, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suzanne's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suzanne`s Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing