We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week of our three week European tour”
Review of Hotel Am Hopfensee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Hopfensee
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Fussen
Certificate of Excellence
Poitiers, France
1 review
“Best week of our three week European tour”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came back to this hotel in June, after a gap of over 20 years since our last visit, and were delighted to find it just as enchanting. It had recently been refurbished of course but the feeling was just as magical. Waking up every morning to a different view of the lake & mountains, was breathtaking. It was very near to the lovely town of Fussen and we could also visit many other places from here. The Pizza restaurant next door was excellent and no, they didn't just have pizza on the menu.
It was altogether a memorable stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    82
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
138
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was excellently placed to see the sights of this part of Bavaria. With castles, lakes and stunning views of the alps on every day trip out. Hotel was clean and staff were really friendly and very very helpful,, with tourist advice including free parking spots and things to see in the local area. Parking could be difficult but all guests get a free pass to park on-street, in the 2-hour zones, for the duration of their stay. Plenty of restaurants and bike hire very close by. Would have been excellent if the room had included a fridge and the room servicing was more detailed (replacing used glasses and water). Our room was on the right hand-side of the hotel and had a lake view from our balcony - we'd suggest avoiding the left-side as views would be more restricted. Breakfast served until 10, but when the hotel is busy, you need to be down around 9 to get the full range of items on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view - avoid left hand-side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

So when we decided NOT to give Hotel San Marco our money because they were RUDE upon arrival we went to this hotel instead. The customer service was EXCELLENT and the pizza place attached was the best food we ate the whole week. However, we were placed in their apartment attachment and there are ZERO pictures of this and the apartments were not even close to the pictures. No soap, just shampoo, no coffee, no amenities. But the balcony view of the lake was nice. I guess after our experience in this little town, the best part of all of it was the view and the pizza. That was about it. I would not rush back to this! There are WAY WAY WAY too many hotels and beautiful places near Fussen, Germany to make it here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambrent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Spent one night here on route back to the airport from Austria. Hotel is situated in a pleasant location opposite the lake and has free parking outside of the hotel. The lady at reception was friendly and spoke fluent German & English with no accent at all and gave us some information about the area & hotel facilities.

The room itself was very nice (shower no bath) but lacked a fridge or tea & coffee facilities. The view however was awful of a back passage. When I asked if there was another room available I was told that there was a 3 bedroom one for families but they needed to keep it spare in case it was needed.

We headed to Fussen for an enjoyable evening meal ... but parking facilities are terrible in the town. Great chinese just off one of the paved streets.

We came back to use the Wellness facilities and were told that both of the jacuzzi pools had broken down. We decided to use the sauna and Turkish Hamman area anyway. When we first entered the Hamman area there was a bit of a smell but this seemed to disappear once we started using the body soaps etc. that we had bought at Woolworth's in Fussen (None seemed to be supplied by the hotel). HOWEVER ... We went to the sauna area next and were shocked to find a couple of guests walking around naked .... we did not feel comfortable with a 9 year old present and told the reception.... however they said they could not do anything. We quite quickly left.

Breakfast was fine but the hot food and bread quickly ran out and took time to be replenished. However the couple waiting were very busy. Not overly welcoming though and I made it a point to speak to them instead.... even just to say thank you. The view from the breakfast area towards the lake was very nice.

OK for a nights stay but I would not have been happy with the view for any period longer.

Room Tip: Check for a view if staying for any length of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_the_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is located directly across the lake Hopfen, if you're lucky enough, you would get the room with the amazing view to the lake and the Alps. Even our room was quite at the backside of the hotel, but we still got the incredible side view from the balcony.

The hotel provides 3-4 free parking space just infront of the hotel, otherwise, if I'm not mistaken, with the local tourist card one can park at any parking space along the street.

The room was decent, quite spacious, and clean, the cleaning lady stopped by every morning to fix the bed and clean the room. There was a big cupboard to keep our belongings and a nicely designed shower room, although the shower door was acting kind of funny. And of course separate toilet, but they kind of missed the sink in there.

The breakfast buffet was the same every morning, but the service was great. The waitress greeted us and offered us coffee, they even provided us with complimentary sparkling wine since my husband told them it was my birthday. And at every breakfast the hotel provided us with a piece of paper full with the list of possible events and activities around the area.

We did not try the restaurant, but my husband did try the sauna, and it was okay.

There were not much entertainment around the area, just few restaurants but one can walk around the beautiful Hopfensee, hike up to the Hopfen ruin, do the Füssen city tour, or drive to Hohenschwangau to visit the beautiful Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein Castle. The tourist information is just around the corner from the hotel.

The receptionist was very kind as well, she even gave us advice on where to tank.

On our first night, there was this group of teenage tourists, somekind of school tour, and at night we figured out that the wall between rooms is not as thick as we thought it should be. We thought that was the end of our vacation, but then the groups left the next morning, so everything turned out to be great. :))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yacintalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here during May. The hotel is overlooking the lake. The area is quite and very relaxing. I stayed for 3 nights, I had a car (by the way free parking) so being away from the city center was not an issue but rather good choice since the price per room is better than the center rate plus the service and quality of service.
The rate included a breakfast which was very good. Also I had a dinner once and I enjoined it.
Definitely I would return back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Fantastic location on the lake with lovely mountain views. Very close to Neuschwanstein/Hohenschwangau castles and the ideal location for people traveling to the castles by car. We were considering staying in Fussen or Schwangau and were very pleased by our choice to stay at Hotel am Hopfensee instead. The rooms were modernised and very clean and nice (although the suites are yet to be modernised I believe). Free parking across the road from the hotel so no need to pay for the underground parking. We had dinner at Fischerhuette Restaurant across the road from the hotel - the most amazing duck and so cheap! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,596 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sommer
Hotel Sommer
#4 of 40 in Fussen
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Geiger
Hotel Geiger
#1 of 3 in Hopfen am See
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Hopfensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Hopfensee

Property: Hotel Am Hopfensee
Address: Uferstr. 10, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Hopfensee 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Hopfensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenblick Hotel füssen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing