We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slight disappointment”
Review of Villa Toscana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Toscana
Ranked #4 of 24 Fussen B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“slight disappointment”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we probably came at a wrong time of the year, and the true light of this hotel (the beautiful garden and lovely tranquil neighbourhood) didnt shine thru. it was an easy 5-10min walk from train station to this place (all the way to the right), all straight road, but was a slight confusion at the beginning as the train station itself was at a junction with too many openings.

we spent 3 nights here which turnt out to be too much, as the town is small and weather too cold. hotel was compact but was everything it promised. a billiard room, library stocked with german books (whats the use of that for foreign travellers), bar area which also served as breakfast area and spa (we didnt visit). lift produced some noise and was closed for use after 9pm. we stayed right next to the lift and wasnt really troubled by the noise. our room was a double that looked out to the hotel's main entrance direction. quite small to be honest, and we were sort of disappointed upon entering by its rustic feel and lack of "surprises". however the bed was fine and the pillow ok. blanket very warm. bathroom was interestingly large compared to the sleeping area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon_cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    103
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
32
171
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fussen is a great place to stop if you are driving to Italy via Germany and the Villa Toscana is a great place to spend a night. I also suspect it would be a good base if you wished a longer stay.
The hotel is spotless with big bedrooms and good bathrooms.
Reception was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast, which is included in the room price is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As the name tells, it is a historic villa, actually a former nunnery.
The building is pretty and detailed renovated; nice rooms, great washroom.
We had a "comfort room" with tub and extra shower!
Flat screen in the room and one in the wash room :-)
Wifi is for free, parking right infron the building.
Very polite and helpful staff!
Its abount 10 min by foot to the town center, 2 min by car.
Breakfast is good; but me being picky, I missed fresh cut fruits (they offer a fruit basket), and I missed scrambled eggs or eggs sunny side up, maybe some salmon; but as I said I'm picky.
My wife was totally happy with the breakfast buffet, esp with the coffee maker.

If you are at Fussen and you like Italian food, I highly can recommend the " il pescatore". Great Italian food. A little hidden at the old town of Fussen. Try to reserve tables!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was really looking forward to staying here and the expectation lived up to the reality. Set in Füssen, this building steeped with character and some history is a standout for Füssen. The property is an ex-nunnery, it was used by nuns as a holiday retreat. Grounds used by the nuns to relax and grow produce in still stand and are well kept and the trees do well to frame the mountains stretching out into the distance.

Inside the hotel has a modest understated charm and look. The rooms are spacious and well kept. Wifi is simple and easy to use (a rarity I find) and you need only to put in your name and you are away. A small selection of english speaking channels (but then you wont be spending that long in your room!).. however tvs do have usb so you could prep a stick or card before you leave if you want.

Breakfast, absolutely fine no complaints. Service, impeccable. The young staff couldn't be more helpful, friendly or nice if they tried.

Location. Well I read reviews before I left and anyone who moaned about the 10 mins walk must be some obese american as the walk is nothing. This hotel is in Füssen and it is a short lovely walk, SHORT!

Amenities, well the hotel includes a spa area... for FREE. The hotel could have gone for the easy option and charge for a mark up but no. The spa area is clean modern and a relaxing feel with free herbal tea for rehydration. There are two steam rooms, showers and a chillout room. (oh and did I mention the free billiards table as well!)

Next freebie up.. the KönigsCard. Now you may overlook this on both the website or when you check in with some cynicism... don't. This card allows you free bus travel (no fishing about for change) you simply swipe your card on the sensor in buses and you are away to explore the area. The museums in fussen are also again totally free with this card! you will save a small fortune very quickly. We only touched the surface of the card. The only problem is the website for the KönigsCard at present does not switch to english when you click it, making it virtually impossible to find out when saving can be made, best thing is to ask the very helpful people are reception to help you out with that one.

Unbeatable in Füssen...

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a room facing the front gardens with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonSeismik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel, approx 10minute walk (on the flat) to the centre of town. Set in lovely grounds, helpful staff, really nice, fresh breakfast and nice sauna facilities! Free parking facilities - great place to stay to explore the region.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurajE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has been newly renovated so everything is brand new and very very clean. It's located in a very interesting old house, with a pool table and very nice backyard and porch. Breakfast is good as well, but limited choices. Location is little off from the main town, so you will probably need a car to stay here. Great value considering it was only about $100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

As a realtively new accomodation I decided to take the plunge and book the Villa Toscana. I was not dissapointed. Beautiful location with all the the new snow it was very pretty. The rooms were extremely spacious with excellent facilities. Billiards, spa and sauna thrown into the mix, but so quiet. It had been a former nunnery so they certainly new how to find a great location. A bit of a walk into town, but hey, a small price to pay. Sumptious breakfast and very helpful staff even if there was only one on reception to serve the bar as well as all the other duties. Four poster bed and bathroom to die for. The bath was like an Olympic swimming pool. You will not go far wrong in staying here.

Room Tip: The four poster bed is on the ground floor next to bar, Junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fussen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 40 in Fussen
1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
Luitpoldpark-Hotel
#11 of 40 in Fussen
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hirsch
Hotel Hirsch
#3 of 40 in Fussen
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schlosskrone
Hotel Schlosskrone
#5 of 40 in Fussen
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Bad Faulenbach
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fantasia
Hotel Fantasia
#2 of 40 in Fussen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Toscana

Property: Villa Toscana
Address: Von-Freyberg-Str. 28, 87629, Fussen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Fussen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Fussen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Toscana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic mansion is situated amongst a beautiful garden and in walking distance of the old town center of Fuessen. The world famous castles Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau can be reached in a few minutes by car. Enjoy peaceful surroundings and a personal and relaxed atmosphere with an impressive view of the castle of Fuessen and the Bavarian Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing